all about Jack. age 2

I like to refer to Jack as Absalom, who turned the hearts of the people.  It’s a pretty terrible analogy but it makes me laugh for various reasons. But it’s true. With a tiny smirk on that blonde head, hearts melt.

But we kind of talked about that already when Jack turned two. So what’s new with Jack? He’s sort of communicating! Praise hands and dance parties. We have deduced that he wants to sleep with his door open and this has reduced screaming parties in our house by close to 83%. Praise the Lord. (Oops, spoke too soon, or maybe it truly was the houseful of company and he’ll go back to this angel status).

Every other day he’ll pop out a new word without prompting and my heart flutters. For instance, ‘Ivy! Baby. Kick kick kick.’ A whole sentence. I almost fell over but I was still laying in bed and was spared a fall. I really like his rendition of ‘firefly’.

Have I mentioned that he has got the toilet thing all figured out? Another reason to truly rejoice. And another reason to cover my eyes as I look out the window where Ev has helped him remove his underwear to water a bush in the front yard. Most times, he’ll let her or me get him back dressed but occasionally, HE has to be the one to put his underwear on and so I have to endure watching him stick both legs in one side seven times before he’ll finally receive help.

Jack is incredibly trusting. Or fearless. Or brave. Or something. In June of 2016 Jack was tubing with his dad at 13 months old. June 2017 rolls around and Jack is now wake surfing with his dad. I truly do think his mindset is just, ‘well I’m with dad, so naturally it’s ok.’

His determination provokes a bit of awe in me. I mentioned he got a strider for his birthday and he was going to conquer it. And so in the blazing heat, he painstakingly walked his strider (definitely hasn’t figured out the gliding motion yet) down to the pond and then back up the hill again. And then was so incredibly proud of himself. Go Jack.

He’s such a boy. He’s such a thrasher. He loves to do whatever big sister does, whether running, hopping or jumping. He has a great smile and if he laughs, you laugh, its unavoidable.

We’re lucky to have him.

img_2750img_2605img_2765img_7334

Love you Jackie boy.

(Our new bedtime routine involves me singing ‘Jack goes hopping into bed hurrah, hurrah, jack goes hopping into bed hurrah, hurrah! Jack goes hopping into bed, momma bends to kiss his head and we all go hopping down to the ground to get out of the rain, bomp bomp bomp. Works wonders. hurrah.)

 

 

 

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in for jack, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

