Davey and Jen Jen

Hello!

It’s been a whirlwind 3 weeks. And right now, all is calm and all are asleep. Ahhh.

So. Three weeks ago, Davey and Jen Jen breezed in after doing some eye doctor legislative stuff up in D.C. The day they came in, I came down with an epic head cold and was blossoming with poison ivy. Everywhere. Ankles, legs, torso, shoulders, nose, ears, forehead, fingers.

I met them at the lake and while I felt like my head was underwater, it was still a blast. Like I forgot how good it is to just chew the fat with my brother and SIL. And I forgot how much Davey makes me laugh. Always good medicine.

Wesley’s been filming cars and so Davey and Jen Jen got all dolled up a couple times to model cars. And it was such a hoot watching them on the big screen. We need to put together just a highlight reel of them driving around $100,000 cars.

The kids had a great time and I loved hearing all the comments Ev would say to them. One of the first days, I was napping with the kids and Ev woke up and went and found Davey and Jennifer and chattered on about everything and eventually told them, ‘my mom has coffee beans if you’d like to make a hot or cold coffee.’ Heart eyes. What a little hostess. And she’d snuggle up and rub their backs and say, ‘I’m really glad you’re here, it’s fun hanging out with you!’

I’m going to assume that Jack was having such a good time with them that when it was time to go to bed, he hollered and yelled so much because he didn’t want the party to stop. Seriously bellowing. So after trying everything, we would escape to the front porch and visit and chat and watch the fireflies and it was wonderful. And quiet.

The last night they were here, Jack was bellowing away in his bed and Davey popped his head in and very politely said, ‘You know Jack, you’re just a little bit loud, wonder if you could just take it down a few notches so I could go to sleep, you’re kinda hurting my ears.’

It was like flipping a switch. He immediately stopped and never made a peep afterward.

Too bad it doesn’t work when his parents try.

Jen Jen and I got to take the afternoon off and hit all the thrift stores around town. Jen has a great etsy shop and is delighted with the local thrifts spots here. So that was fun.

We, of course, ended the trip with brunch at Jacks; always a great time. Got to see a couple of the locals and picked blueberries at a beautiful Virginia farm.

Great times. Great memories.

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in family, Happiness, Life as it Happens. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

