All about Ev. Age 3 

Someone once said that, for various reasons, three was their favorite age. I think Ev was probably two at the time and so I silently disagreed. But now, Ev’s three and I know what they’re talking about.

It’s about one hundred different things that I couldn’t possibly document but want to try to anyways.

It’s every time I’m in the kitchen and she comes in, ‘How can I help you mom?’.

It’s all the times she helps Jack go to the bathroom, ‘here Jack, I’ll help you.’

It’s how she loves all my friends and will talk their ears off as they try to leave my house-every step they take towards the door, Ev has another question she’d like to discuss with them.

It’s how she goes over to her Mimi’s house and picks a bowl full of blueberries and then tells her Mimi, ‘here! I picked these for you!’ And then disappears into the house and finds a quart ziploc and transfers all the berries and then runs back outside to join us and deliver the goods.

It’s the request for ‘turn your asparagus’ song at nap time. Which translated to ‘turn your eyes upon Jesus’. She’s requested ‘turn you asparagus at every nap and every bed time’ and asked last week when we were ever going to get to the asparagus part. I told her it was really just eyes upon Jesus even though it kind of sounds like asparagus. And finally, last night, she requested eyes upon Jesus.

It’s how she talks on the phone to her Megee and then comes out to tell me she’s talking to Megee because Davey and Jennifer were unavailable and Megee’s reading the newspaper and Poppi is relaxing. And then launches back into conversation with Megee, ‘and so…the main point is…’.

It’s how she proudly runs into our room to let us know she made her bed and even found a sparkly pillow in the linen closet and has decorated her bed with it.

It’s looking out the window as we drive down the road and remarking, ‘wow, look at all the beautiful things God has made.’ And then letting us know that we are now on Main St and that is sure is busy at Mad Local, there’s four people there!

It’s her memory which seems to rival that of an elephant. ‘Mom do you remember a wong, wong time ago…’ and then she’ll tell me something that happened a year ago.

It’s all her planning for the day which usually involves going over to Mimi’s house while I go on a little date. ‘Does that sound like a good idea?’

It’s the three full solo cups of cold water in the fridge. Why are they there? I have no idea but I’m sure she’ll be able to tell me all about it when she wakes up.

It’s how she’ll play forever in the sandbox. Or making seahorses with her playdoh.

It’s when she’s walking through our bedroom talking to her baby and says, ‘You’re killing me smalls’. (We died on this one).

It’s her love of worms and fireflies. Little beetles are ok, big ones are not.

Its her adoration for Ivy and her general encouragement to the family. ‘Mom you look so pretty today!’. ‘Good job baby!’

It’s her excited, ‘MOM! I didn’t know I was going to pump today!!’ as she masters the art of swinging.

It’s how she can never just say ‘weekend’. Its ‘the weekend because Dads going to be home!’.

It’s how she translates all of Jack’s grunts for us. He’ll be fussing in the car and she’ll say ‘Jack did you want to go to Mimi’s?’ ‘Tsss,’ he’ll respond. ‘Well we’re not going to Mimi’s house, we’re going to Jacks Shop Kitchen!’ ‘Oh,’ he’ll say and stop fussing. I don’t know how much is the power of suggestion but she will generally just suggest until she finally gets an ‘oh’. And then, ‘Mom. Jack wants …’. She truly carries on the most amazing one sided conversations with him.

Ev. We adore you.

Stay tuned for all about Jack.

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to All about Ev. Age 3 

  1. Lauren Bowin says:

    Oh this child…I miss her so. I can’t wait to listen to her prattle on! It’s been far too many days since I’ve had my arms around her!

  2. RaeAnne says:

    I love this. Three really is such a fun age. Although, I think each stage/age is fun in its own way. My girls love “Evelyn pictures” so thanks for the fun post! 🙂

  3. laurie says:

    oh gosh. i think for both my girls, three is the age where i’m like, mmmnnmnn send ’em back. thankfully balanced out by some incredible cuteness. 😉 wish we could hang out more and get to know your kiddos better. ❤

Leave a comment