Jack turns 2

You guys. If there was ever a day that epitomized why I don’t do birthday parties, it was yesterday. Oh em gee.

My dear darling boy who I cherish and adore and who melts my heart woke up on the very wrong side of the bed. It was a classic case of the Mondays times seven. First, he woke up too early and then he was mad that it was his mom, not his dad who walked in his room to bid him good morning.

And that kind of set the tone for the day. Such wailing and gnashing of the teeth when Ev took her cup away from his place setting. After he decided that we should all go back to my bed and cuddle for 20 minutes, we found some peace but it was pretty much touch and go all day.

I do love it when Wes comes home to save the day and Jack (or whoever) is just as ornery as he was all day long and Wes looks at me like, ‘holy cow, you weren’t kidding, this kids’s mess.’ Ahhhh. Yes.

Not that you’d ever know from looking at these pictures. So yes, we had good moments, thank the Lord for cameras to capture the happy moments so you can look back and see the cherubs.

We had lunch with Wes and the grands and picked a boat load of strawberries for our pancake dinner. Then ventured over to Yoders for ice cream and feeding goats because that’s just how we do birthdays over here.

Ivy is pretty much the only one in the family who can almost always make Jack sweet again. So praises for them and their relationship.img_2140

And then it was party time and the grandparents came back over to attempt to sweeten Jacks disposition. He had to be convinced to leave his swing to open presents but I think he was happy with his decision.

I’ll have to say, watching a two year old dive into his loot is pretty fun. He was pretty stoked with all his gifts, the best (or worst), but definitely funniest was a remote control car that I picked out for him. He loves Wesley’s drones, so I thought he’d like a drone that he could drive; as in car. He loves it all right but as of currently, does not desire your help. So hands off, I will drive this car where I want to.

Oh Jack. It’s 9:30 in the morning and you’re still asleep, (so is your big sister and finally, your little sister) so I already forgive all the wringers you may put us through today.

Your smile melts butter, your snuggles melt me and your ‘hey!!!’ to our neighbor walking by as you drove your car into the road soften us all.  I often wonder if it was just you and me, how long would you want me to hold you? All day? I often hide in my closet from you but my heart is always so incredibly thankful that we were blessed with a little boy to love. Because you are truly one of a kind. As Poppi says often, ‘Jack, you’re something else.’

You really are bud. Love and so many hugs.

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in family, for jack, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

