Travel tales

As we walked onto our second airplane, I turned to Wes and said, ‘I really hope I won’t have to nurse Ivy between two men.’ (We no longer get to travel together because of all the children).

And as we approached 35E, I looked ahead and remarked, ‘yep, nursing between two men’. The guy in front of me turned around and laughed/grinned but offered a sincere ‘I’m sorry,’ through his laugh.

The two guys were fine and pretended not to notice all the shirt adjustments and Ivy’s feet kicking them. One was also very helpful and when I slid into the seat juggling a backpack and sleeping Ivy, sweatshirt and blanket, he asked what he could do.

So I asked him to help me buckle my seat belt. Naturally, I was sitting on the strap that he was trying to reach.

And so with a, ‘Well if you’ll just excuse me’, (me realizing and trying to lift my rear off the chair) ‘I’ll just reach down here…’. Insert laughing/crying emoticon face. Haha. Still makes me laugh.

We landed in LA and were there for hours. All of us fell to sleep and then at 2 am Virginia time, Wes woke me up to board the flight with our three sleeping kids. And thus began us trying to figure out how to carry everyone without anyone waking up freaking out.

I had Ivy and had just boarded, Wes was on the plane trying to figure out where to put Jack and Ev was still asleep in the stroller on the walkway. After much pondering, a gentleman spoke up and asked if Jack would be okay if he held him. And without further ado, I dumped Ivy in his arms, scooped Jack up, Wes got Ev and the man and the flight attendant followed us to the back of the plane.

The flight attendant delivered a spiel on where we could sit with our lap infants and when she finally finished, me and Wes stared at each other like ‘what?’ and then turned to the man with Ivy and asked if he knew where we were supposed to sit. So he told us, gave us Ivy and I could have hugged him on the spot.

Moral of the story. If you are traveling without children and you are kind to the people who are traveling with children, it will make their day and be so incredibly appreciated.

It was all worth it.

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in cayucos, family, Travels. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Travel tales

  1. No stress says:

    A fiiine example of chill parenting. Fine indeed. I will travel with you and our babies sometimes. We will be great.

Leave a Reply

