My kids and my grandparents 

These are some memories I will hold in my heart. I’ve probably mentioned this before, but I’m on the younger end of the grandkids and growing up, whenever I thought about it, I’d always feel a little bit sad that my grandparents would probably never meet my kids. I’m so glad I was quite wrong and that two weeks ago, they got to meet our third cherub and build memories with our other two.

Grama does so well with babies and I loved watching her bounce Ivy around and coax little smiles from her.img_1504

Jack adores many people and he especially adored Grampa. The mutual affection these two Earls had for each other kinda made my heart overflow.Jack would run over to Grampa and lift his arms up and I’d say, ‘Grampa! Don’t lift him, he’s too heavy!’.

img_1657Grampa always listens to me.

We got to spend a bit of time with them in their home, puttering around doing a few projects and I’m so happy Ev got to experience a bit of the magic of Grama’s gardens. I still have vague childhood memories of her gardens at their last place with a tire swing and creek and little pathways and I love that Ev gets a bit of the same.img_1635

Truly lovely. She was so sweet to them and would ask Grampa, while he was in the dining room and she in the living room, ‘Grampa, are you happy that you’re here?’. We told her she’d have to get a bit closer for him to hear her.img_1801.jpg

Essentially, we traipsed across the country because I wanted to take one more beach walk with my grandparents and I’m so thankful for that gift. Praying for more times but thankful for my storehouse of memories.img_1521

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My kids and my grandparents 

  1. Joni says:

    I think this made my eyes a little watery. 🙂

  2. laurie says:

    gosh me too @joni. so precious.

Leave a Reply

