Through the window

I spend a lot of time looking out our windows. When it’s too cold to have Ivy outside but warm enough to send the kids out, I bundle them up and shoo them out and sit back and enjoy the show. They come back in about every five minutes to ask for donuts and I shoo them back out. Occasionally I have to bark out the door when Jack becomes overly affectionate to Gladys but much of the time I just watch with an amused expression at the conversations that are taking place.

I can’t hear a word they’re saying but Ev always has lots of ideas and things to say and while Jack doesn’t use words to converse, he definitely can get his point across. The other day, she decided she needed his help to get off the slide and all I saw was a hand emerge. Jack stared at it for a bit, like, what are you doing? But then he finally got, clasped her hand, and pulled. And when she stood up with his help you’d have thought he’d been given the world, such was his delight. And so, diligent son that he is, he waited at the bottom of the slide as she continued to go up and down, always there to lend a helping hand with the biggest grin on his face.

It’s even better when Wes is home. Jack never stops running. Just as soon as he’s caught up with Wes in one area of the yard, Wes takes off to go get more sticks/pine needles/whatever. Jack’s legs work double time as soon as he realizes Wes has moved on and I just love to watch from my stadium seat. And then there’s watching for Dad to come home. Best part of the day. I love the looks on their faces when they realize its his car. And they run to his door, get in, Jack honks the horn, Ev asks for gum and I smile as I pass the baton.

Ah. Did I mention best part of the day?

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

