the first few weeks.

So this morning, Ev and I were unloading the dishwasher and I randomly burst into this kids song ‘To love and obey’, that I haven’t thought of in years and was like ‘whoa, where’d that come from.’ We’ve been working on the concept of obeying the first time and so I sang it about 100 times and then googled it to see if I could find some kids singing it for her. And google pulled my blog up with this post from four years ago. Which startled me, and then amused me and then led me on a wild goose chase around my blog reading stuff from four years ago.

I really can’t tell you how much I amuse myself. hahaha.

But. Moving from 2013 to 2017.

So, my parents arrived the day Ivy and I came home from the hospital and stayed for two weeks, (praise the Lord).

That first week home I pretty much stayed upstairs in my room, avoiding the stairs and held Ivy. One of the things I was so concerned about was how I was going to give Jack what he needed after a cesarean. Jack’s very much hands on and craves lots of affection. And he’s a lug. But I barely saw him those days. He’d occasionally come in for drive bys but then would motor off to go bang around in the kitchen with Poppi or read books with Megee or who knows what.

It was little miss Ev who’d come find me and sit in the chair next to me and visit and visit and visit some more. Every day for weeks, she’d ask me how my owie was doing and if it was all better and tell me she’s sorry I have an owie. And then at night, Wes would come back from tucking her in and tell me she was praying for my owie. So maybe faith like a child helped? Because this recovery has been so much better than Ev’s. It’s probably a lot of mental stuff. I knew what to expect  and gave myself lots of grace for doing nothing. So thank you fellow prayer people for praying peace over me.

So. By week two, I was downstairs and a bit more engaged in life around me and was like oh. my. gosh. How on earth am I going to survive when my parents leave. From my vantage point on the couch it was essentially taking four adults to take care of three children and the house. And I was like, next week, this is all me? What?! So I just tried not to think of it. But seriously, just the amount of laundry going on was overwhelming.

Ah.  But it was such a great two weeks. So incredibly thankful for Wesley’s parents and mine and all the help given. It made such a huge impact on my first week by myself which went astonishingly well. Mainly because I had all that time to rest, Ivy was giving me decent sleep, and Ev and Jack blew me away with how well they entertained each other after having grandparents on hand for three weeks. They just played together and had the best of times!

I mean yes, the amount of times I found Ev changing Jacks diaper was a couple times too many, or the toilet scrubber in the toilet with toilet paper everywhere…Or the bathroom/kitchen floor sopping wet from them playing in the faucet..or the coffee grounds all over from them making coffees…or…you get the idea. But I haven’t had three children hanging on me and that’s new and unusual. Praises.

So now. Here’s what some of this looked like.

Good days. Blessed days. 

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to the first few weeks.

  1. Laurie says:

    Love the pics and happy it’s been going so well for you. 💛 #comment 😜

  2. Paula Johnson says:

    I love you and your blog entries, Kelsey, and I hope to meet you one day.

    It has been a delight to follow you from before you were a mommy and through each of your darling babies’ births. I love seeing your parents and grandparents with you and the children.

    You used to travel together: Was it when you were traving in Greece that I discovered you? ~~and New England in the autumn… Now you are parenting, grand parenting and great grand parenting together when you can!

    Blessings upon you and Wes and your three dolls!

    Lovingly,
    Paula

Leave a Reply

