2016 in review.

I can only imagine what the next sixteen days of 2016 could bring forth so I figured I’d better start writing what took place in the first 349 days as I do believe this year will go down in the books as one of the more interesting thus far.

January began with a bang. We flew to California with an 8 month old and two year old and Wesley dived into flying lessons. Like, really dove into it, like it wasn’t really a vacation. He took February off and some of March and then dove back in, flying an average of 2-3 days a week and studying an average of 5 days a week. I’d guess that he was probably still putting in an average of 40 hours a week at Ace Collision and also running M.A.P Drones which has probably averaged 7 jobs a month, mainly providing imagery and mapping to construction companies, but also real estate, and some pretty time consuming films, such as his commercial of Yoders (you can watch that here).

Throw in a month of Band of Brothers prep for a concert and I think it’s safe to Wesley did a lot of running around.

I did too, it was just running after a one and two year old and you’ve been reading about it all year long so I’ll gloss over that.

Wes received his pilot’s license in August, quite the feat in general but throw in the aforementioned paragraph plus keeping his pregnant wife and two kids happy and it was really something to write home about. I can’t even describe the amount of pins and needles that I was on as I waited to hear from him after his flight test. Such major anxiety because it took longer than I had expected and because I had a surprise party in the works as soon as I heard if he had passed. And then the epic relief and as time went on the stunning realization of how much actual time we had on our hands.

Throw in a trip to Mississippi during this time.

Plus a weekend getaway with just the two of us. (Epic).

Shake around a camping trip where Jack woke up probably 100 people at three in the morning.

And then throw in a celebratory trip to California after Wesley received his pilots license.

And then throw in that North Carolina trip.

Add two visits from my parents. And one from my grandparents. Another quick visit from an aunt and uncle in Texas. And a few days with more Texas family, Gram, auntie and cousin.

And then as soon as life has the potential to slow down, I tell Wes there’s a problem in the whole nesting house department and he’s like, ‘well lets go buy one!’ (not really but you know, that’s what happened since that’s all I’ve been writing about for the last month).

And so here we are in the middle of December with two and a half weeks to go before baby is due. Praise the Lord, we are settled, not just physically, but emotionally into our home and it is a wonderful haven. Baby is breech, mother is hopeful, husband is crazy busy but wonderfully supporting all these new emotions since finding out baby is breech, one child is sleeping and the other is laying in her bed saying, ‘oh my gosh! oh my gosh! oh my gosh!’.

Don’t ask me. I have no idea.

We looked like this in January.062_Bowin2016

Twelve months later two of us can still wear the same outfits and two of us have grown substantially. (That would be me and Jack. I’ll try to get an updated picture here soon).

And how many praises can I give for the health we were blessed with; the safety Wesley has had on all his flights, the peace that I can hold on to, and how He holds us all in the hollows of his hands.

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in family. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

