Ev turns 3

Oh but wait, somewhere in there Ev turned three. She was so excited about this and it was kinda adorable. We asked her over and over what she wanted for her birthday and over and over she would say, ‘cupcakes!!!’. Ahh. I love it. And so on her day we made cupcakes together and frosted them and sprinkled them and her excitement was just the best.

My mom saved all my doll stuff from when I was a little cherub and so once more for her birthday, she received more bitty baby accessories. I love telling her that this is what Mama used to play with when she was a little girl and I just adore her little face that flushes with excitement. It’s kinda one of those heart welling moments when you dwell on the gift of your children.

The day after her birthday I heard her running back and forth from the kitchen to the living room about a hundred times. I can’t remember what I was doing in my room (laying on the bed?) but I remember thinking, I don’t even care. She’s obviously having a great time.

When we walked upstairs together for naps I peeked into the living room and saw this-all her little birthday bowls and cutlery from Mimi in individual ziploc bags. She is so not her mother in this and so her father and her Megee with her tiny bit OCD ways. It was rich.

And the rest are pictures from her day. Blowing out the candle (over and over) was such a huge highlight. Don’t you just adore how kids take such joy in the simplest matters?Gosh she’s beautiful.

I found out on her birthday why her babies all need washrags. She informed her Grandad that these are the blankies that the babies put in their mouths. (If you know Ev, she goes to sleep or relieves anxiety by putting a blanket in her mouth). This was such a funny, light bulb moment for me.

Another light bulb moment…Ev has been occasionally telling me since March that she has her hopes up. I murmur something back as a response and have been baffled as to where she heard the phrase, what she means, etc. One day in the recent past, I heard her hiccuping and she came and told me, ‘Mom, I’ve got my hopes up!’. And I was like oooohhhhh! Hiccups! So funny.

Such a good day with my favorite little girl.

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in for ev., Happiness. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Ev turns 3

  1. dbowiniii says:

    Top 5 Post. 😍

    David Bowin (925) 997-5961

    >

  2. Lana says:

    Gage is darling. Love her flip flops in the last pictures.:-)

  3. Lana says:

    That was supposed to say “she” is darling.

Leave a Reply

