hello beautiful 

One day in late August, when Wesley came home from work, I informed him that we had a slight problem. I was already nesting and their was nothing to nest. I wasn’t where I needed to be in the contentment department and told him I could get back to where I needed to be, I just wanted to let him know I was off in left field.

He responded by telling me to pick three or four houses off my real estate app and that we would go look at them over the weekend with our realtor . I was like what?! Are you serious?

We had tried to buy our little hills house again in June, and again, the family couldn’t get on the same page and turned us down. Throughout the two years spent there, Wes and I would go through spurts of real estate scanning but nothing ever serious. Usually we’d be scrolling and I’d show him something and he’d be like, ‘Kels, thats a dive.’ And then he’d show me something and I’d be like, ‘Wes, why are you looking at million dollar farms??’.

So I was pretty surprised that he trusted me to come up with three to four options that we’d actually agree on and spent the week feverishly browsing my app. I finally came to the conclusion that there wasn’t even one property I’d want to waste a realtor’s time with and that feverishly looking wasn’t helping. So I told Wes to tell our realtor to just keep his eye out for a cape cod with a garage and a sun room in our local town and gave up.

That Saturday, Wes and I and the kids drove around just to kind of get a feel for the area again and see different houses that had looked slightly interesting and see how far they felt off the main drag.

After around two hours, we were all about done and Wes asked me if there was anything else that I’d like to see.

‘Well, there was one more that was kinda interesting, let me pull up my app and see if I can find it.’

And I refreshed my page and this was the first thing I saw.

My jaw might have dropped, I might have heard some angels, and I might have said, ‘Why yes, there is one more I’d like to see.’

Five days later we had a contract on it. Sixty days later we called it home.

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in Life as it Happens, Our Story. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to hello beautiful 

  1. Lana says:

    And it is darling.

  2. RaeAnne Payton says:

    So cute, Kelsey! I’m happy for you to have a new place to nest. 🙂

Leave a Reply

