where i am a hero

I know, it’s not very exciting to read about me blabbing about my hero status, but I’m on a high from exercise endorphins and feel like this week deserves to be documented. Because after all, it’s not every week where I feel like I can put on my red dress and dance around like the emoticon lady. One recent Friday afternoon ended with both kids in the tub, Jack screaming bloody murder at me and me, dissolving into tears. True story. The next time the kids were in the bath and Jack angrily yelled at me, Ev looked nervously at me and asked if I was going to cry.

Haha. So. This week deserves to be fondly remembered. Last Sunday, Wes gave me the morning off and when I emerged from our bedroom at 10:00 he haggardly looked at me and was like, ‘oh my gosh! I’m so ready to go to work!’. Insert more laughter.

Perhaps with that in mind, I formulated a plan for the week, figured out what was going to be for dinner and then made a grocery list and headed to the store. Novel idea eh? Ah…It was transforming. Even though my little darlings turned their nose up at the amazing homemade mac and cheese I had lovingly prepared, I felt like a hero with my organized fridge and meals and leftovers and brain.

And in between all that goes on with little darlings, I packed the upstairs rooms, and have the basement 80% packed and cleaned and organized. Maybe even 90%. (Wait, why am I packing? Whoops, another blog another day). AND I’ve done prenatal pilates four times, once with the children and once with the whole family. And I pretty much feel like I could put my cape on and fly around.

So cheers to this feeling, be it ever so fleeting. Perhaps it’ll stick around because after all, I’ve already planned next weeks menu. Woot woot.

And to be noted, it was a stunning weather week, with only a touch of nicely seasonal gloom, the kids took some amazing naps, I talked on the phone to my dad for 30 uninterrupted minutes, a great friend for 52 minutes, had coffee and conversation with friends and decided to take a page from sister Em’s book and do Friday adventures. And so we ventured to Yoder’s to feed the goats and were all stoked when our favorite person was able to slip away and join us.

What a great week.

Ev feeling the baby kick and asking if I can show her the baby’s eyes on wifi. 

I told Ev we were going to her aunt and uncles house so she took it upon herself to get Jack dressed and chased him and cornered him until she succeeded. Classic firstborn.

He is incredibly patient.Yep. Good week.

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in family, for ev., for jack. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to where i am a hero

  1. your mother says:

    I just love this post…it’s going to get reeeaaal interesting when you potty train Jack. You took it upon yourself to pretty much train Davey or at least “add to” whatever I was doing. I think Ev will do the same. I do believe Jack is more patient than your brother!

Leave a Reply

