mornings with ev.

Mornings are not quite as interesting as they were back in early summer. So that’s nice. Generally, I hear Ev trot down the stairs. She runs into our room and checks on Wes’s side of the bed. If it’s during the week, he’s already gone and so she runs to the fridge and helps herself to a yogurt. Depending on the brand, I get a yogurt stuffed into my face with a whispered, ‘Mom. Can you open this?’. I generally do this with my eyes closed and she trots off to a various table to eat her yogurt.

She then hops in bed with me and gnaws on her blanket for 5-20 minutes. Then she whispers, ‘Mom. I’m ready to eat my cereal.’. I tell her to go get her bowl and then I blearily stumble from bed and pour the milk for her.

Things were much more entertaining back in the summer when I awoke with a jolt to hear her giving a tour of our refrigerator to someone on facetime. Insert all the horror and gasping emoticons. First thought was, ‘Oh please don’t let that be my former boss from Allstate’ whom she had just called the day before.

‘And here’s the ketchup and the juice and the milk and the chocolate and the…’

Oh my gosh!

I received these group emails later that morning.

So my phone started buzzing at 6:45 this morning.  I ignored the first buzz as I was enjoying sleeping in just a tad.  Finally after 4 ring cycles, I figured I should check it in case someone really needed to get a hold of us. So I picked it up and saw that it was Evelyn wanting to FaceTime!  I answered, and for 30 minutes we had a nice chat. 🙂 🙂 I asked about Mama and was told Mama is sleep.  Jack was apparently asleep too because I never saw him.  I also inquired about breakfast.  I then got an entire tour of the refrigerator, with each food item named: salsa, yogurt, milk, wine…absolutely hilarious.  In between all this chit chat she would intermittently say “Where is Uncle Dave?!”  I would find him for her and he would say HI EV!  We would go back to our visiting about Mimi, Granddad, Mimi’s garden, blackberries, etc.  and again she would ask about Uncle Dave.  “Is Uncle Dave drinking his coffee?”  I would say Yes, but I needed to SHOW that Uncle Dave was drinking coffee.  We visited about going to MeGee and Poppy’s house.  She is not driving there, she is flying on an airplane.  That’s right, I said.  And, flying is way better.  She also told me she wants to come to my house and THEN go to MeGee and Poppy’s house which I wholeheartedly supported.  I even said she could swim in my nice pool and play with some great toys. After about 20 minutes she said “I’ll let you go, I’m going to call Daddy”.  Apparently Daddy wasn’t available because I got another ring back and we visited another 10 minutes.  🙂

Oh yes we got it at 4:45 I showed her it was dark here and she informed me the sun was awake there and daddy told her to go to bed but she did not obey and everyone was “a sweep”. She wanted to see poppy and I informed her phone call woke him up so he was going to the bathroom and she wanted to see that. I politely declined. Glad the grandmother and aunt could keep the 2 year old entertained

The funny part was when she was talking to us we kindly suggested she call aunt Stacy. That aunt Stacy would luuve to visit with her right then. We didn’t even get a good bye. Click. That was 4:45 so she wasted no time   How does she know who to call?

Ah Ev. I think this will make me laugh for a long time.

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

