Labor Day 

Pretty much the best labor day weekend on the books although I guess I’d have to go back and examine the books to make sure.

But golly, it was a good one. After being sick for days, and our friends being sick for days, we were finally able to get together with quite a few of them.

We kicked off Friday night with a trip to a near by lake to fish and have a picnic dinner. Ev caught the biggest fish, loved holding the worms, and a couple of us tried to hold back mirth at Wesley’s amazing attempts to cast with a hot pink, two foot long, Disney princess fishing pole. Ah Wes, he’s such a good sport.

Did I mention that after loads of heavy, humid weather, Friday brought us four full days of supremely delightful weather-it was pretty much like living in San Luis so that was amazing.

Saturday we drove around looking at real estate. I’ll detail this later, I promise.

We ended the afternoon excursion at Yoders where watching the kids never gets old. Such delight at feeding the goats. Jacks giggles and excitement are extremely contagious. Ev was entranced with the bunnies and I sat back on a bench watching Wes watch her and wondered how long it would be before he mentioned getting her a bunny. About seven minutes later he came over to me and said, ‘I wonder how much work bunnies are.’.

Ah Wes, you’re the best.

Wes mowed and Jack fell to sleep and it was adorable.

img_9374And so were popsicle treats.

img_9382

Sunday, we ventured to Jack’s Shop Kitchen (my third time that week), to have brunch with some friends we haven’t seen in ages. That was top notch. And then that evening we got together with five couples, all Virginia guys that had married California girls. And gosh, was that ever a hoot. I think I mainly just laughed.

Monday, Wesley took the family flying. I’ll perhaps blog about the anxiety I can get while he’s away from me flying, but as long as we were all with him, I don’t have too much fear. I did think, ‘Oh my gosh, if he had a heart attack or something, I would have absolutely no idea how to get out of the sky.’ That was a rather panicky thought so I asked him how to contact the ground. Ha.

img_9398 img_9392 img_9403 img_9393 img_9395

And then we looked at the most beautiful home ever.

And then we went over to a friends house and cooked out over the fire.

Can you say top ten?

I’ll say it.

Top ten.

 

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

