chitter chatter

Conversations with Ev are amazing. She talks pretty much nonstop and not only does she have some great one liners, she has incredible voice inflection. My aunt googled it and declared it, ‘great cadence.’ For instance, her tone might start out at a G below middle C, but towards the end of the sentence, she’s up in her falsetto at a B flat.

So while the stuff she puts together cracks us up, how she says it just really sends us over the edge.

The other night she was watching football and just giving play by plays to no one in particular. ‘Oh I love basketball! You just spread out and you run. There they go! Wow! They are running so fast! Oh they all fall down!’.

Sitting on the stairs watching Jack tumble around, ‘Mama, I love you and daddy loves you and all the children love you and that makes you happy!’.

‘Dad, I don’t want you to go to work this week. I want you to stay home with us this week. No, you’re the best Dad.’

On my birthday, fingering my new dress, ‘Man! Look at you! You look so pretty!’.

Last week outside, we were all sick and rather comatose and she held Jack in a chair and combed his hair with a Popsicle stick for at least 20 minutes…and quietly chattered to him the whole time. ‘Wow, Jack! You are being so brave! Good boy Jack! Are you so brave? I wuv you! Good boy! Oh! Do you hear the airplane Jack? Do you remember the big airplane we were on yesterday? Do you ‘member? We flew on a big airplane to see Poppi and Megee! Do you ‘member that Jack? You’re being so brave Jack!’.

Tonight lounging on the bed, Wes asks me if I know where his book is, Ev immediately interjects. ‘It’s in the wiving room. Yeah. You were reading it yesterday.’ Wes asked her if she’d go get it for him, ‘sure! I’d love to!’. Off she dashes and we shake our heads as we shake with mirth.

This day was all about how wonderful smoothies were and how she was going to drink more plus do I see how she’s keeping her dress down so you don’t see her underwear and do you know the trick about crossing your legs suddenly interspersed with, ‘Wow! Look at what daddy did to the grass! It looks sooo nice!’.

Ev. You’re amazing.img_9323 img_9324 img_9319 img_9320 img_9326

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in for ev.. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to chitter chatter

  1. RaeAnne Payton says:

    I love this. Cute pics. ❤

  2. Addie says:

    She is darling and amazing. You’re a blessed mama, and if You taught her the crossing your legs trick, super rad. I’m using that.

  3. Brookie says:

    Oh so cute!

Leave a Reply

