someone was praying.

I think it was my grandparents.

A couple days before Wes took his pilots license test, I was growing weary in the long evenings with him gone. He had one last prep flight from 4-6 and so we decided I’d just take him and drop him off and go to Target and Chik fil a with the kids in the duration. We wandered Target for as long as possible and then paused at the food station for a Jamba Juice. {Corralling Jack in Target is similar to herding cats.}

Jack loudly protested the sharing of the smoothie and I finally decided we should probably head for the check out before things got too crazy. As we made our way, I noticed another mom with two kids and then we both did a double take. I was like, ‘Hey…..I know you but I don’t know why I know you….’.

She filled me in and we caught up and I told her what I was doing. She was like, hey if you ever need a place to crash, I live right by the airport. I was like no way. We exchanged phone numbers and I told her I thought I’d be good this time but thank you sooooo much.

And off to Chik fil a we went.

After the joys of dining with a 1 and 2 year old and the terrors of the public bathrooms and allllll the children in the play area I looked at my phone and saw that it was a quarter til 6 and that I could probably start to pack up the kids and head to the airport. And then I got a text from Wes saying they were just now getting up in the air because of the thunderstorms and it would be well past seven before they were done.

You can picture the emoticons that went rolling through my head. More hours at chik fil a? Gasp, despair, the urge to weep. And then I remembered the girl from Target. And I was like, I’m a totally texting this girl that I’ve met twice and asking if I can bring her a milk shake and indeed, crash at her house.

And twenty minutes later, I walked into her play room, her dad was laying on his air mattress with an iPad, her husband (whom I’d never met) was looking at me somewhat quizzically, her girls were happily playing and her face was full of kindness.

And so I sank to the floor and was like, nope, this isn’t weird at all. This is divine.

And so it was. Evening saved. Someone’s prayer answered. No emotional breakdowns at Chik fil A.

Hallelujah.

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in Life as it Happens. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

