We’re that family. 

I’d like to begin by patting myself on the back for packing for a family of four for the duration of eight days away from home. Maybe that’s not really amazing but I always feel a nice sense of accomplishment. So there you have it.

But moving on, we’re that family. That family you see in the airport and hope they’re not on your flight. That family you see walking down the skinny aisle between the rows of flights and pray they’re not sitting next to you.

I smile ruefully at my fellow passenger and wish her good luck as she shares a row with us. The college fellow sitting next to Wes disappears after about 80 seconds to miraculously locate himself aisles away from us.

This was indeed wonderful as it gave us four seats in a row on our first flight out.


Five hour flights are incredibly long. I said many praises for Wesley being along for the ride. When we were relaying travel stories to the grandparents they remarked on how Jack had sat for ten minutes looking at books quietly. I had much mirth as I considered ten minutes on a five hour flight.

But it was totally worth it and wasn’t as bad as it could have been and I’d do it all over again.

Plus, hurray and hallelujah for smooth travels and great connections.

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in Travels. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to We’re that family. 

  1. Did you really only take that one suitcase~~and it wasn’t a heaping pile? This is amazing and you should feel VERY ACCOMPLISHED! I could use some lessons~perhaps a blog post on how you do that? 🙂

  2. Paula says:

    Did you really pack only one suitcase for an eight day trip for four people, with two of them being little frequent clothes changers? You most definitely are amazing and you are VERY ACCOMPLISHED! Perhaps you should create a blog post telling how to pack like that! 🙂

    If you received this same comment from TheKathrynJoy, that means she borrowed my computer and did not log out, so I commented from her sign in spot! 🙂 She is my darling, firstborn granddaughter who is expecting our first great grand child!

Leave a Reply

