dances with fireflies.

Ahh. These evenings of running around chasing fireflies makes me just want to bottle up the essence of childhood innocence. And I love that these evenings are what will be in the storehouse of the kids memories because what could be more picturesque and stereotypical than capturing fireflies on a humid Virginia evening?

Ev cracks me up as she waves praise hands around hoping one will land on her hand and then shivering like mad and shaking her hand when one does.

Speaking of Ev, many of you enjoyed stories of the little miss and all her morning adventures. Well the other morning, my mother in law stopped by with some milk that she had just milked from like a real live cow and some eggs from the farm next door (how cool, right?). She thought she was just coming over to drop goods off but she kinda arrived in the middle of a disaster zone.

After assessing the damage, one of the first things she did was take out the trash. With my head buried in the fridge I asked Ev if she could put in a fresh trash bag for Mimi. So, Ev whips open a cabinet and pulls out a trash bag. She expertly shakes it out and then stuffs it the trash can and carefully curls the bag over the can. She slams the trash door shut and nods her head at her efficiently well done job. Meanwhile, Mimi is exclaiming over and over, ‘Oh Evelyn, oh my goodness, you are such a big helper! Wow, what a big helper you are for Mama!’.

My head is still in the fridge as I’m attempting to wipe up a half gallon of tea and sort through all the items that have been soaked by a certain someone who I’m assuming was moving the jug of tea so she could get to the watermelon. And I’m shaking with laughter and mouthing right along with Mimi, ‘Oh, yes, SUCH a big help to mama!’.

bahaha.

ahh. These are the days.

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in for ev.. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

