A gray day in May. 

The joke here is that 95% of days in May were gray. It was a dreary month. And in it, (the Monday after mother’s day) I had my first, ‘ok, I’m labeling this the hardest day of motherhood so far.’

Jack woke up two hours before his normal waking point and on the wrong side of the bed. I woke up with the cold my family all had and went about the day with a foggy head and a screaming child and then instead of Wesley being home to rescue me in the evening he went to band practice and at 7:20 I was laying in bed, crying along with Jack saying, ‘I just want to go to sleep!!’.

So needless to say, when Thursday rolled around and I got to leave the little darlings and go to an art class that had been planned the previous month, I was pretty giddy.

The class was held up in the gardens of Monticello and even though it was gray and I was wearing a sweater and a jacket, I was seriously chortling with glee to myself as I sat there and viewed the scenery and painted to my hearts content. Also. I’ve decided that painting gives me much joy and I’m like, ‘Oh, I should totally take this up as a hobby!’. And then I laugh. Perhaps in a year or two. Or four.
img_8462 img_8467 img_8460 img_8473So it was a top ten day worth remembering. Also worth remembering is the lovely friends I have around me. It was so wonderful to enjoy the beauty around us with this friend and laugh and kick our feet up with no littles about. And as I was doing this, another friend delivered flowers because I’d told her about my Monday. And I was a bit overcome by the thoughtfulness and am thankful for many dear ones far and near. Much love from me to you.

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in friends, Happiness. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A gray day in May. 

  1. Alisha says:

    Love this! Looks beautiful and good friends are the best. Also, leaving the littles for just a bit is so necessary. I’ve really enjoyed MOPS (Moms of Preschoolers) where I have 2 hours (once a week) where Emma is in childcare and I can just sit and visit other moms, hear good teaching, do crafts and eat snacks:) So blissful, and I didn’t realize how much I needed that until I tried it.

Leave a Reply

