Weekend getaway

First it was planned. Then it got canceled. And then within an hour it was re-planned and we hopped in the car, dropped the kids off at the grandparents and headed to Old Town Alexandria, one of our favorite quick getaway spots.

We dined well, drank lots of coffee, biked many a mile, and I finally got to do some relaxed pace shopping. And we stayed at a favorite hotel on King St. Unfortunately, our bedroom balcony overlooked a normally very peaceful courtyard. However this night, it was full with a rather raucous wedding reception, complete with thumping music and an enthusiastic DJ. And when they finally quieted down, the dog next door was able to be heard barking nonstop for the next thirty minutes. Truly, I was trying to stuff myself under pillows while saying, ‘turn the TV up, anything to drown out the noise.’ So, romantic evening it was not. haha.

Anyone ever read Amos on the Couch? Great book. There’s this line that says, ‘traffic was bumper to bumper to couch to bumper.’ I felt very much like that. I do love biking to dinner. And everywhere. I’ve broken my arms twice while riding bikes and still just absolutely love riding them.

So after all the hoop la ha of the night, we actually arose and were down at breakfast before eight am. I hardly recognized myself. (Not my looks, just my actions.) And then we got on the hotels bikes to hit the Mount Vernon Trail. Two miles in, Wes lost his pedal. We headed towards the nearest bike shop but they were closed so he called the hotel. I got to bask there in that sun for about thirty minutes while a hotel man rode down on another bike to deliver to us.

We hit the trail and took lots of breaks. Astonishingly, I was not the reason for these breaks! Wes was! Turns out this trail goes right by Reagan Airport and so Wes wanted to stop quite frequently to check out the take offs and landings and take pictures. I usually took advantage of the ground.A couple times I’d go about a half mile without seeing Wes and ponder, ‘hmm, wonder if I’m still on the right trail?’. I did get passed by a jogger one time so I was going pretty slow. (haha, I told the fellow as he was passing me, ‘hmm, well, this is my first time to get passed by a runner.’ He had his earphones in and didn’t appreciate the moment. The people that I did pass as I went up a hill and puffed out, ‘Barely. (puff). Passing. (huff) You. (breath) OnTheLeft. (puff) were quite amused).

Eventually I’d catch up to Wes watching planes and he offered to switch bikes.

‘Why?’

‘Well mine has gears.’

‘What??!!!!!’

And here I thought I was just a complete wimp.He finally told me to just bike in front of him so he wouldn’t plow ahead.Funnily enough, that never worked for long. Chuckle.

And as we headed back to the car, we walked through the fountain courtyard and I announced we should take a quick selfie. ‘Really?’, said Wes.

Really, said I. I’ll be super discreet. And so I popped the phone out, and we popped a pose and then noticed that camera was aimed the wrong way.

Really said Wes.

Hence the look of amusement here. 

And then we decided to interact with humans and asked a little girl to take our picture. You should try it sometime!

Such a good time. And so good to have the goobers back in my arms.

Incredibly thankful for safety.

And for my wonderful family of four.

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in Happiness, Our Story, Travels. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

