afternoons with jack. 

Some days, I do whatever I can to get the kids to take naps together. Because really, there’s not a whole lot like that peace and quiet while you’re sipping an iced latte and eating a dude while lounging outside in the sun on a blanket. Or washing dishes. You know.

But generally, Jack goes down around ten, then about the time he wakes up, Ev’s faltering, so off to bed she goes, and then around the time she wakes up, Jacks ready to go down again.

So. Generally. Jack and I get to spend the early afternoon with each other. And when I think about it, I’m thankful we get to hang out. It feels like I’ve spent a lifetime of connecting with Ev and now it’s like constant communication so if she wants to connect, she just hollers ‘mom!!!!!’.

Jack’s usually more subtle but the past month or so he seems to want to spend lots and lots of quality time together. As in, mom, hold me. And so once again, I remind myself that the moment I try to do something and the kids prevent me from doing it, I get frustrated. So, I pretty much don’t do much and we just go outside.

And Jack, for one is very pleased.

Until the rain comes, and the teeth hurt and the nap doesn’t happen. Then it’s back to, ‘mom, hold me.’

Oh he’s a fun goober. Really. Have you ever seen such a grin? I just bought him a baseball hat and I’m pretty sure he’s going to look exactly like my grampa. I’ll do side by sides for you. Cant’ wait!

Hugs.

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in for jack. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to afternoons with jack. 

  1. Stacy says:

    These pictures are killing me! I need a Jack fix!!

Leave a Reply

