blue apron week 2

So this week, blue apron kinda knocked it out of the park. I first made seared salmon with green potato salad and pickled mustard seeds. Are you as intrigued as I was? The potato salad had sauteed spinach, celery and green onions, sour cream and horseradish. And the biggest surprise was how much we enjoyed the mustard seeds. Who’s ever heard of eating those? Not I.

 I think our favorite meal was next, the Korean Bao Sliders. I don’t even know how to pronounce that or half the ingredients that were in this meal. Which makes it so fun-you’re constantly trying very new foods and you don’t have to think a bit about it. Just follow the ever so clear instructions. Also. If you fry sweet potatoes with a Korean meal, it suddenly becomes tempura and much healthier than just french fries. This meal was so good and I would totally make it again. Except I have no idea where I’d find the ingredients. Amazon?

img_8307And then lastly, we ate chicken over a bed of cous cous (never made that before either) with a topping of lemon compote. (what?!) I had to read the instructions about seven times to figure out what I was supposed to be doing here. Other than the compote this was a very simple meal and I’d probably do some variation of it again.


What is just so great is that my fridge is pretty empty but I get up in the morning and I’m like boo ya, I know whats for dinner tonight. Also, when I get up in the morning, I make this. Every day for weeks now. Asparagus sauteed in bacon grease, then topped on a piece of sour dough toast with a fried egg, bacon, and Parmesan. How many different ways can you say amazing?

  Can’t wait for week three! (Insert party girl emoticon).

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in food. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

