and then my parents came.

A couple weeks after we arrived home from Mississippi, my parents came. I was so excited because April is my favorite month in Virginia, (trees have flowers on them, what?! and everything is just stunningly coming to life and the sky is so clear blue and the air is perfect) and I couldn’t remember the last time they’d been here in April. Of course, as soon as they arrived, the temperatures plummeted a good thirty degrees, (all the way down to 25*) and it even snowed. Like seven flakes.

So it was nice they were here to distract us from the fact that we couldn’t lounge outdoors. But a bit sad that we couldn’t enjoy the great outdoors to their fullest. Still, we packed in a nice amount of stuff.

First Megee arrived and Ev and I got to wait inside for her to come through the doors, always an exciting moment. We were sitting on the floor and when Ev saw her walk in and she was so overcome that she crawled across the room to where Mom was (now on her knees too) and then just looked back at me blushing with her mouth hanging open like ‘oh my goodness can you believe this?’. It was adorable.

We of course had to go to Yoder’s where Evelyn and Poppi ate their customary ice cream cone (when Evelyn prays she says ‘thank you for yoders’).

  
(Yes, Jack is eating saltine crackers while Ev mows on a cone).    We had a lovely lunch at Early Mountain Vineyard and Jack mercifully slept by the table while Evelyn got on her sound of music and roamed the green hills.

 Mom went into town with me and we conquered Costco and Target and weren’t even exhausted when we arrived home!

And of course, we always eat well when we’re together. Its absolutely lovely when the littles are happily entertained and I can cook away in peace.

We played music, we sang, Dad and I argued about whether or not a two chord was used frequently in songs. We then decided he was playing eighties songs and I was playing millennial songs.

Dad and I strolled down to the local market and while I stayed outside the kids and the dog he made some purchases and came out with lollipops for the kids. I was like are you serious? He was. Evelyn didn’t consume like, any type of sugary sweetness until she was well over one. Poor Jack didn’t seem to mind that he was being corrupted at an early age. In fact, he was rather delighted.   
DSC_0377 DSC_0371I’m always so thankful for the opportunity to see my family as much as we do. And I’m always so sad for Evelyn when they go because for days she wakes up, runs downstairs to go to the bathroom, then pops her head through our door to tell me, ‘I’m gonna open Poppi Megee’s door, say boo.’ And then she runs back upstairs and hops in bed with them. And then tells me all about it whenever we’re all up. And then they’re gone. And she keeps asking about them and we keep talking about airplanes and she doesn’t seem to mind much but I still wonder what is going on in that brain of hers and how is she processing it all.

Thank goodness for facetime.

And now. I’ll believe I’ll close as I have a little midget hanging out with me.

Great trip. Very thankful.

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in family, for ev., for jack. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

