Indoor shenanigans. 

And then there’s the days when we’re stuck inside. They make the outdoor days that much more enjoyable. Ev spends a lot of time of her pretend phone (a domino) saying things like, ‘hey man’, (how Wesley always answers the phone, unless its, of course, not a man on the other end). She carries on long conversations and dies of laughter. She also drags the stool around the kitchen and helps herself to snacks and makes me coffees.

Jack follows Ev and I around. The other day I was marinating raw chicken and I heard Ev going upstairs and I was like, I don’t even want to know what Jack’s doing so I’m just going to finish this chicken. And then I heard Ev hollering, ‘Jack, out of my room.’ She was trying to close the door on him and there he was at the top of the stairs (for the first time) and my heart sped up.

Later that day the back door was open and Jack decided he wanted to go down the slate steps down to the concrete. I, of course, had my hands in the raw chicken again and he wasn’t listening to me so I was trying to hook him with my foot and Ev was underfoot and Jack was literally underfoot but we somehow stumbled back inside. Moral of the story, don’t get your hands in raw chicken?

Did I mention they went to the doctor the other month? Jack weighs more at nine months than Ev did at a year. (Jack 18.6 30% and Ev 24.2 20%) Jack grinned the whole time and Ev actually did very well. We told her the Dr. was listening to the horsies in her chest and that was deemed kind of funny. She nearly had a meltdown about him feeling her stomach but we told her he was looking for goldfish and so she laughed and cried about the goldfish in her belly.

The hour between after dinner and bedtime can sometime stretch into eternity and so we’ve developed a new routine. I have brushed off the dust of some of my jazz music and Ev dances like a crazy person as I pound out the Maple Leaf Rag. I’m happy to report there’s been much improvement in the music department in the last two weeks. Jack comes over to hit a few notes, Ev comes over to hit a few more and to say, ‘mom. nother song mom. Mom. Wheels on the bus mom.’

Wesley gets out his latest new toy, an osmo attachment for his inspire one camera (or something like that) and walks in circles around the living room filming the commotion. I shake my head and laugh and launch into the third movement of the Maple Leaf Rag.
  
  

  
img_7921  
img_7917

  
  

Sometimes these days are long. But normally, by the time I get into bed, I can say, ‘ah. Well. That was a good day.’

Hope we can go outside tomorrow…’

heh.

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in for ev., for jack. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Indoor shenanigans. 

Leave a Reply

