the kiddos.

I’ve had an influx of emails recently from readers asking for Evelyn and Jack stories-‘it’s been weeks,’ they said, ‘since you’ve told any good stories about the kids!’.

Ha. Just kidding. No emails. But since everyone loves to read about two year olds and nine month olds, here I go! (haha. Still snickering).

So. For the first two weeks at home after California, the little rugrats were pretty much glued to my ankles. Lots of block building, lots of book reading, lots of playing mom the jungle gym. I’d try to sneak out of the living to do something fun like dishes and then time it before someone came rushing in hollering ‘mooooommmmm!’. It was usually about thirty seconds.

And then one miraculous day, I did the dishes by myself for ten minutes while the kids played in a room where they couldn’t even see me. It was astounding. Of course, when I went to go check on them, Jack had cornered a stink bug and was trying to grab it to put it in his mouth.

And just like that they’re entertaining themselves. Jack probably does better than Ev although she can get on a roll with taking care of her baby and talking on her pretend phone. She will carry on great conversations with Poppi on a domino-the other day I came into the kitchen and she was saying, ‘knock it off.’ ‘knock it off, Poppi says knock it off Tessa.’ I died. Poppi does tell Tessa to knock it off quite frequently but when Ev then told Jack to knock it off I told her we’d probably only say that to the dogs.

Today, I walked outside to find her perched on the sill of a basement window. She was talking to a bug. ‘Hi bug. Good to see you. For dinner, had chicken, avocado. Mom! Bug. Hi bug.’ And on and on. One of my favorite phrases is ‘already did’. I’ll ask her, ‘Ev, do you need to go to the bathroom?’. She shakes her head and looks up at me very seriously, ‘ayeady did’. (Yes Ev you did, like five hours ago, perhaps you need to go again?)

I feel a little bit like I just finished going through the opening and closing and emptying out of cabinets with Ev but Jack has picked up where she left off. A definite favorite activity. He found the garlic today and munched on that and when I picked him up I about passed out.

Watching Jack with Ev is highly entertaining. He thinks she is the bees knees and will go off into gales of laughter when she plays peekaboo with him. He really has the best laugh.

I have lots of top ten moments from these stages that I want to remember and cherish. With Ev it’s when she comes down from a nap. I’m often in the living room when she wakes up and so I’ll watch her come down the stairs with her blanket in her mouth, her hair a tousled mess and her cheeks a rosy red. She’s very focused on me and immediately comes over to sit in my lap. Depending on the activities surrounding the moment, she snuggles down for thirty seconds or five minutes. And its one of my favorite times of the day.

Evelyn learned the trait of cuddling. Jack was born with it. I adore how he just dives into me, pulls his arms down to his belly and just snuggles in as close as he can get. My moment with him occurs less frequently than with Ev. Sometimes Jack thinks that he really doesn’t want to take a nap, so I’ll pick him up, turn on his music and do different dance/rock to sleep moves with him in front of the bathroom mirror. He presses his rosy cheek to mine with his star studded pacifier and watches me in the mirror and giggles at every new move I introduce. His low throated chuckle and shining eyes get me every time.

They really are the best.066_K0345Bowin 118_K0345Bowin 115_K0345Bowin 111_K0345Bowin 110_K0345Bowin 109_K0345Bowin 108_K0345Bowin 107_K0345Bowin 120_K0345Bowin 099_K0345Bowin 092_K0345Bowin 087_K0345Bowin 083_K0345Bowin 082_K0345Bowin 078_K0345Bowin 077_K0345Bowin 074_K0345Bowin 069_K0345Bowin 065_K0345Bowin 052_K0345Bowin 046_K0345Bowin 040_K0345Bowin 039_K0345Bowin 027_K0345Bowin 020_K0345Bowin 019_K0345Bowin 013_K0345Bowin 012_K0345Bowin 009_K0345Bowin 007_K0345Bowin 001_K0345Bowin

Thanks again to Lisa Maksoudian for the amazing captures.

 

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in for ev., for jack. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to the kiddos.

  1. Addie says:

    Great stories. The knock it off is my fav. And Lisa. I die. Those pics are fab.

  2. Raen says:

    Love the pics and stories. Even at almost 6, Miss B still pulls the, “I already went today.” 🙂

Leave a Reply

