if you want to see 90, be kind.

Today is my Grampa’s 90th birthday. He and Grama are the reason I started this blog. I always love listening to their story and I love being a small part of it.gramps grama waterfal

Grampa means a lot to a lot of people and I think it’s because he always has an encouraging word to share. He told me years ago that he feels the most overlooked and ignored command in the bible is to be kind to one another. And this is a principle that he embodies. It’s really quite a legacy to have and an example to follow.texas and fall trip 220

He still brings Grama flowers and surprises her with packages in the mail. He makes who knows how many phones calls a week to check in on people and he sends pictures/cards/and text messages with some fabulous emoticons. He always inquires about the weather which makes so much sense now as I just learned that when he was a boy he wanted to me a weatherman!

  
I also recently learned that he held the record at his high school for being the only one to make the extra point on a ‘drop kick’. (If you haven’t bought one of these books for your grandparents, get on amazon and do so now. They’re amazing to have.)

 I’m incredibly thankful for the memories I have with him. Both from childhood and from all the trips they’ve made back here. (Just search Grampa in my search bar and you’ll find many a post of our adventures together.)

Happy birthday Grampa! You’re truly one of a kind.gramps and gramagramps and grama visiting 006DSC_0234 DSC_0236 DSC_0252 photo (5) DSC_0179photo 1 photo 5 photo (4)photo 3

Grateful to have so many David Earls in my life. And always wonderful when I can be with all three of them at the same time.

Hugs and love Gramps!

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in family. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to if you want to see 90, be kind.

  1. Paula says:

    I just shared this post with my husband, Burnell Johnson, and he said that you seem to be a really good granddaughter! We have some of those ourselves, so we know how appreciated you must be. We love the way you honor your grandparents. 🙂 I really like the comments about kindness, and I loved reading the memories written by your grandpa. Happy Birthday to Grandpa!

  2. Darlene Harrison says:

    You are blessed with happy memories of your grandparents. I know because I am too. And I am glad I knew yours a little bit.

  3. Herb Meeker says:

    Very well said. I have recieved encouragment many times from Mr Bowin

Leave a Reply

