oh you mean quinoa.

Why yes. Yes I do.

When we were in California I was in a discussion with Wes and some old friends and I dropped this cool word that I can’t remember into conversation and was questioned as to the pronunciation. It was deemed okay but this led to a further discussion about words you’ve mispronounced.

For instance I remember an English class in high school, we were taking different turns reading aloud and someone read the word filet mignon. And I thanked heavens above that it wasn’t me reading aloud because I would have pronounced it fillet mig non.

Or that time when I learned that chagrin was pronounced chagrin and not char(coal) grin. Such a great word.

Or that time when I was walking through the department store with my cousin and saw the word lingerie and pronounced it linger ree nee. She was like, wait, you know it’s pronounced lingerie, and I blushed and pretended that yes of course I did.

So I went grocery shopping by myself the other night and I was pretty stoked because I was all by myself and had some great food ideas for the week, including a new recipe. I was going to make quinoa for the first time.

I had done a couple circles around the store and wasn’t ready to search for quinoa so I just stopped a grocery store worker and asked him where the quinoa was. Quinoa as in Quin Noah. Quinoa as in when I was talking to Wes about Quinoa, Ev started singing ‘who built the ark? Noah Noah.’

The grocery store man looked at me funny and asked me what quinoa was. I had a moment where my subconscious alerted me that something was wrong but shrugged it off telling him I thought it was a grain but that I’d never purchased it before. So he led me to the correct aisle and I found it.

Later on that night I bounced over to one of my foodie friends and said guess what I bought for the first time at the grocery store?!

‘Kerrygold butter?’.

Ooo. Good guess. Sounds similar starting out.

She gave in and I cheerfully crowed, ‘Quinoa!!’. As in Quin Noah.

She paused for a second, and then said, ‘oh you mean quinoa!’.

huh? Keen wha?

And then I died laughing.

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in best of, food. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to oh you mean quinoa.

  1. dbowiniii says:

    Great post but we want pics.

    David Bowin (925) 997-5961

    >

  2. Kristen says:

    This made me laugh cause I can so relate….took me forever to remember how to correctly say quinoa 😋

Leave a Reply

