to hike or not to hike.

That was the question and don’t ask me why I responded with such vim and vigor. I hardly recognize myself. I’m just pretty much solid muscle now.

Ha.

So back in November I decided I was going to get in shape so I could go on hikes with my family instead of just passing out alongside the trail. Seriously, go look at this post and die laughing at the second picture posted. I’m just not a natural hiker. At all.

So I biked 18 miles in November.

And did some pilates in December. With the idea that maybe I could make my leg muscles figure out what they were supposed to be doing.

And began hiking within 24 hours of our arrival. And had to take who knows how many breaks where I would find a rock and just sprawl out. My legs did ok. My lungs did not. I really dislike cardio.

And so I’m at 29 miles. It’s exactly one mile from Journeys End to the top of the Cayucos Hill. Works out pretty well. I’ve missed one day and only made it halfway up the hill one night due to the mountain lion tracks we spotted which scared me half to death.

And I’m pretty darn impressed with myself.

And I’m still the slowest hiker you’ll meet.

img_7806 
  
  
  
  

    
img_7798img_7695

Three cheers all around.

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in cayucos, Journeys End, Our Story. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to to hike or not to hike.

  1. Raen says:

    Looks like you’ve had a great two weeks. I’ve been thinking about you all on this last day…. Those are always bittersweet. Safe travels home!

Leave a Reply

