jade bangles, pilots license, etcetera.

WordPress put together a little end of the year wrap up for my viewing pleasure, letting me know what was going on in this little blog of mine. My most viewed post was one I wrote in 2011 about the demise of my jade bangle. This amuses me and every couple of months, I’ll get a new notice about another comment made on my jade bangle post. Who knew it would be so popular?

Wesley is getting his pilots license. He’s getting it for business reasons, not for fun. That would not fly. (haha.) Of course, as a childhood dream is coming true, I’m sure he’ll have great fun. This whole deal has great potential to stress me out. I’ll be laying in bed and the tentacles of fear wrap around me as I consider all the horrible scenarios that could happen.

‘I’m most nervous about a malfunction of the plane,’ I told him. ‘Like, the landing gear not coming down.’

‘None of the planes I’ll be flying have retractable landing gear.’

Are you serious. Thanks for mentioning that a week ago. I’ve already spent one evening imagining crash landing in a field of grapes due to no wheels.

My good friend (in my head) Jami Nato wrote a post recently about…different phases of life I guess, entitled ‘getting up off the mat.’ Right now, I’m firmly planted on the mat. I spend a lot of time on the floor. I mean this very literally.

  
I sometimes have a moment of clarity where I realize my life will not always be on the floor and that dreams that I’m not even sure I’d recognize now, may be achievable. But for now, I’m on the floor and it’s ok and it’s a good place to be.

 And since I’m on the floor, I occasionally do some pilates with Evelyn. She exercises just like her mother (maybe she’ll get some of her father’s athleticism) and is a fabulous exercise partner. I wheeze as she hollers off the count for our sit ups, ‘too, tee, fiiivv, too tee, fiivv,’ and her push up position is like none other.

Good times on the floor.

 …

After the kids go to bed, Wes pulls out his airplane books and apps and I open my duolingo app. After waving goodbye to many years of Spanish, I’m having a blast reconnecting. Wesley falls asleep every five minutes or so and I elbow him awake as I repeat phrases into my phone such as, ‘soy bonita’, and ‘ella pesa suficiente.’ Really meaningful stuff. But it feels pretty swell to exercise my brain. Perhaps that’s my new years resolution. To make sure my brain gets in on a little action.

And I believe that’s a wrap.

Cheers to the new year.

 And to this warm winter. Cheers to a California vacation. I am thrilled that you guys are getting so much rain and I’m planning on it taking a brief two and a half week hiatus so the ground can soak up all that moisture before it starts raining again. That’s my plan, at any rate.

Hugs and prayers and may you know how loved you are.

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in family, Happiness, Life as it Happens. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

