in the land of the small folk.

Well. Seems like it’s about time for a little update on life with the goobers. Despite some sickness and such, it’s been a pretty fantastic month. Mainly because you can go outside and breathe! And yesterday there was this lovely gentle breeze on your face and even though we haven’t seen much of the sun, it just feels like foggy coastal weather. Which I will take. Gladly.

  
The kidlings continue to make us laugh and cry. Jack is currently the child who brings us most to our knees. He generally sleeps pretty well. But then there are those nights when he doesn’t. And we’re like, are you serious Jack? But then he gives us this face and we’re like, ok.

 So. Jack is seven months old. Wondering if the sleeping trouble has to do with an incoming third tooth. He’s crawling, (Ev was nine months before she began the crawling journey). And, if you hold his hands, he’ll walk from room to room. (Ev was 16 months before she would let us help her walk. Goober.) And just like Ev, he adores Gladys, throws his arms around her neck and gives her kisses. It’s pretty gross.

Also. Pretty sure he eats more than Evelyn. 

Ev is something else. I swore I would never blog about potty training and so I won’t. Suffice to say that for one week, Ev, Jack and I camped out on the floor of our bedroom. And I was on high, high alert. I’m generally pretty much on low alert when it comes to the kidlings so it was kind of exhausting monitoring every moment. But now it’s two weeks later and I’m so proud of her I could pop. You’d think she was the first kid ever trained. I guess she is my first so there you have it.

img_7288
Her favorite spot is still right where I’m at. I try to time my coffee break when both kids are napping so that I can leisurely sip while savoring my chocolate chip cookie and not have anyone touching me asking for ‘some’. However this is not always real life and as soon as I sit down on the couch Ev will come over and say, ‘Ello sit side Mom.’ And then Evelyn will sit beside mom. And sometimes I’ll ask her if she can go sit in her chair and give mom a little space. She usually responds to this request by gettig on my lap. So I’ve stopped asking.

 I love her growing vocabulary. I love when she goes around the house singing and dancing. Her favorite thing to do is read stacks of books and occasionally, I’ll tell her she can read them while I’m doing something else and I’ll hear words that go with each page and think she’s adorable. If she can’t get her hands on an ‘applesauce’ phone, (as in an apple iphone), a domino will suffice and she’ll jabber on and on to Poppi on her pretend phone.

  
 And Wes and I? Sometimes we find ourselves hanging out on Saturday nights folding laundry and singing songs. And the kids are asleep and we’ll be like, ‘wow, remember that lifetime ago when this wouldn’t necessarily have been a moment to capture and hold on to?”.

 Ah. Life with the small folk. Love all my moments. Well. Not those 2 am moments. But you know, love most of my moments.

 Hugs.

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in best of, family, for ev., for jack. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to in the land of the small folk.

  1. Your adventures with your family always bring a smile to my face and warm my heart.

  2. Darlene Harrison says:

    love this!

  3. Lauren Bowin says:

    Good thing you blog. When your Mother is way far away and feels lonely, she can read this and although I would love to have Evelyn or Jack in my arms I atleast can see what they are doing and what life they are living. Love this!

Leave a Reply

