numbers.

Ev’s super into the number two these days. She’ll hold up blankets, cups, babies, blocks, phones, whatever, then look up at you proudly with shining eyes and pronounce, ‘two!’. Sometimes she’ll even count to two. ‘One, two!’, she’ll proclaim as she swings her blankets around.

She doesn’t much like the numbers three and four, but five is cool because of high fives.

I’m pretty fond of her being two. She seems to be sprouting wings and most days Wes and I look at each other and laugh and shake our heads as she tears around the house on her various important missions.

This week we had the first, ‘ah, so she’s two,’ incident.

She got ‘stuck’ on the bed and her bar stool. She has climbed up and down these pieces of furniture probably seven hundred times. But this week, she could not bring herself to get down. She spent over two hours in her bar stool on Thursday.

It was a rather baffling situation.

First I would be firm. Evelyn, get off the chair. Tears.

Then I would be helpful. Evelyn, mom will help you off the chair. Tears. Then she’d move into position, slide halfway down the chair with me spotting her, then freak out and clamor back up on the chair. Many tears.

Then I would be reassuring. Evelyn. Moma will not let you fall. Tears.

Then I would leave the room. Evelyn. Mom’s going to feed Jack in the living room. Get off the chair if you want to come with us. Tears.

And so I’d feed Jack and listen to her sob in the kitchen.

Then Jack and I would go back in the kitchen and sit on the floor and she’d sniff tell me all about her experiences.

Then I would be caring. Evelyn. Do you need a hug? Tears. And then, ‘yes.’ So I’d stand, wrap my arms around her and pat her back as she’d wrap her arms around me and pat my back. Then I’d back away only to be informed that she needed more hugs. And so we’d hug.

And then I would be baffled. So we’d facetime Poppi and ask her to show him how she’s gets off the chair. No luck.

Repeat for breakfast, lunch, snack and dinner.

And two days later, you’d never guess what an obstacle that dumb chair had been.

Goober head.

 You’re the best.

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in for ev.. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to numbers.

  1. laurie says:

    hahaha so hilarious. 🙂

Leave a Reply

