it was the best of times.

It was the worst of times.

Well. Not really. But three of us have caught colds this past week and Jack has been pretty miserable. We shoot saline spray up his nose and then unplug him and he hollers and Ev gets a look of terror on her face and screams and says, ‘Jack! Nose!’ over and over again. We tell her to close her eyes and not watch and she goes and hides in the corner.

We ran out of tissue and had five rolls of toilet paper over the house. Wes and I drank shots of apple cider vinegar and shivered and gasped.

But we’re all mostly on the mend and thankful for health.

And we’ve had a couple of the best of times too.

I’ve heard this story about when we were kids. We were running around on the beach with a passel full of other kids. My mom was on the bluff and somehow the conversation of ‘could you ever get your kids attention in the chaos’ came up. Mom gave a mighty ‘yoo-hoo’ and supposedly we came running.

Mom still yoo-hoos. That was the ‘call’ we trained Gladys to when we were in obedience school and she comes running at any yoo-hoo.

Yesterday, we were doing some serious fall cleaning and Ev was always right underfoot. I was scrubbing counter tops and Wes was outside sweeping the porch when she pushed the storm door open and few inches and called out in this high pitched voice, ‘hoo-hoo dad, hoo-hoo. hoo-hoo dad, hoo-hoo.’

Took me a minute to process, and then I was like, ‘oh my word Wesley! She’s yoo-hooing to you!’.

And then we did that little parent melt.

We had a lovely thanksgiving with many a friend. We arrived just in time for the pony show which, for awhile, entailed a show of wills between pony and man.

Ev gave up some goldfish and was super delighted that the horse enjoyed them.

  
She even took a ride for a hot four seconds.

 That ponytail gets me every time. Heh. No pun intended. Also. Just to keep with traditions, that’s the sweater she wore to last years thanksgiving festivities. Peanut.

And today, we opted outside. [Don’t make me laugh, like Black Friday shopping ever even entered the radar screen.]

Have I mentioned that my brother and sister in law gave me a bike this fall? I have now completed 15 miles in the month of November, can power up my driveway, can get off my bike without gasping for air, and never went below gear 3 on my super long hilly quarter mile road. Almost rock star status.

Plus I have this little cheer squad that stands in the road with her dad as I go blazing down the hill and she has this look of awe on her face as I go flying past and I’m like ‘almost a rock star? Who am I kidding, totally one!’.

 Ah. I love it.

And then we take a family walk down the hill, cross the road and lean on the fence and moo to the cows.

And I think to myself, this whole family business is pretty great.

Hugs to you and yours.

 

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in family, for ev., for jack, friends, Happiness. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

