parents. november. hot.

My parents came to visit in November and it was hot! By hot, I mean 79 degrees. Like, shorts and tank weather. The first November I lived here, the beginning of the month began with lows in the teens and highs in the thirties. It had rained a lot and I wondered to my mother in law when the grass would reflect all that rain and get green. Like how it does in California. She nervously chuckled and informed me it would be a while.

Little did I know.

But. It’s been lovely thus far; my parents actually packed too warm of clothes. Ah. Will wonders never cease?

They were here for a week. It was a nicely full week without too much running and gunning. I finally made it to my first UVA football game and rather enjoyed myself. Naturally, the marching band was my favorite part.

We cooked some exceptional meals. Went on an exceptional hike. I biked 1.5 miles while my parents pushed the stroller and concluded I am woefully out of shape. We visited yoders and cows and really, had a wonderful seven days.

  

  
      
  
  
  
  
  
  
 As always, when they depart, I feel that great distance between my babies and my parents and could grow dismal. But then I can feel an overwhelming sense of thankfulness that my kids get to know my parents.

 And that, my friends, is reason to rejoice.

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in family, Happiness. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

