four days in new england.

I first started this blog because of a four day trip we took with my grandparents to New England…five years ago. Kind of blows my mind. And I just peeked back at that first blog post. It made me chuckle as I skimmed through it. I was very wordy.

It was our first taste of New England and this was our fourth time back. We must like it up there. Thanks to Grampa and Grama for introducing us. We celebrated their 60th wedding anniversary up there three years ago. We were supposed to take them to dinner out to celebrate and spent somewhere around $11.63 at Wendy’s drive through as we raced Hurricane Sandy down the coast.

Ah. Such adventures. Great memories. Thank goodness for this here blog.

Happily, this trip didn’t have quite as much adventure. Instead of driving hundreds upon thousands of miles, we flew. It was an amazingly short flight and the kids did great.

And the difference in my kids cracks me up. From the time Ev was a baby, if someone who’s not completely in her inner circle says hi to her, she generally looks at them like, ‘why are you talking to me? I don’t know you.’

Jack, on the other hand, would stare at the people sitting on either side of me on the plane until they would look at him and acknowledge him. Then he would burst into a smile as if to say, ‘Finally! You noticed me!’.

Oh he’s a jolly good fellow.

ha.

So. Back to New England. Some lovely friends of ours moved up there this year and showed us some of their favorite spots.

It was beautiful. 

   
I had the best lobster I’ve had in years. 

 I had clam chowder every day.

I had the hardest time I’ve ever had with both kids. (Guess who was off flying drones). (Both kids were exhausted and wailing and I was trying to get both of them to sleep at the same time. Jack was mad. Evelyn felt the need to basically sit on my head while I tried to calm Jack down.) 

 New England sunsets are amazing. The pastel colors were amazing. 

 The kids did better than I thought. 

         

  
Our friends live in a completely picturesque place. 

    
 And it was so good to be with them. 

 

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in friends, Happiness, Travels. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to four days in new england.

  1. davidcorle says:

    I want to go on record in defense of Wes and myself to say it was entirely necessary for us to ditch you guys for a “few minutes” to capture the beauty of Northern Massachusetts by air. I’m going to extend my neck across the proverbial chopping block whilst I assert that the hardship you patiently endured was a mere token to pay for the award-winning stills and videos we were able to secure during those brief moments that we were otherwise occupied. All of that aside, we very much enjoyed your company and look forward more in the future.

Leave a Reply

