Our new fall routine. 

A couple weeks ago, we were trapped in our house for about ten (ish) days of rain. And before and after and during that time, we were trapped in our house due to stink bugs. Seriously. They would come out in droves and collect between the door and the storm door. So if I were to open a door, one hundred stink bugs would then be between me and the storm door. And I’d essentially be welcoming them into my house while trying to herd two children through the opening of the storm door. They made me furious and I desperately worked at not letting them suck my joy away.

Anyways. Whoo. Get irritated just thinking about the darn things.

The rain has diminished, as have the stink bugs, and we are grateful. And so for many a morning, after everyone’s dressed, we head out the door and go for our walk.

And I really can’t get enough of that high pony tail.

First we head up the road to the post office, which is open from 10-12. We say hi to Rhoda who is a great grandmother. She is always delighted to see us and coos to ‘Jake’, and visits with Ev. Upon leaving this morning, Ev said ‘bye, bye’ and blew Rhoda a couple kisses. Rhoda beamed and told me, ‘she’s really getting more friendly!’.

Ah. I love it.
  

And then we head down the road where we look for Kitty and occasionally say hi to Delphi, the neighbor dog.

And then down the road some more to the little play structure behind the church, where Ev spent one adventuresome day going down the slide. She flew off the end every time and landed on her rear and for some reason, I can’t coax her back on it. She prefers to watch Jack go down.

Thankful for these glorious days.

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in for ev., for jack. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Our new fall routine. 

  1. Pingback: four days in new england. | A Story of Us

Leave a Reply

