be by you.

Is this phrase used in every household? Or was it just in ours?

‘Ugh, the dog was soo be by you today.’. Or, ‘Um, I’m feeling very be by you.’.

Ev is very be by you. She generally follows me from room to room, but it is especially noticeable when I have to go put Jack’s paci in at naptime.

I’ll be in the living room reading books with Ev, or outside playing and tell her, ‘I’ll be right back, I need to go check on Jack.’ And immediately she begins to weep. ‘Me? Me?’ she sobs.

‘Do you want to come with me?’ I ask.

‘Uh huh,’ she whimpers. And tearfully follows me to the spare bathroom where Jack sleeps. (Second child).

And I’m like Ev. You goober head. I’m walking two rooms away. Can’t you just stay in here or out here until I get back? But she prefers to walk them with me. And mostly, it makes me shake my head. And I think about how exceedingly popular I am in my house. Unless Jack is hollering and she’s still crying in the bathroom with me. And then I’m like, Ev. FCOL. Can you wait outside for thirty seconds?

My lap is rarely empty.


  

And my heart is always full.

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in for ev.. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

