On the banks. 

 Hello friends. The other Saturday, we loaded up in the car and headed for the outer banks.

We had one hot day, one in between day, and then gale force winds days.

Luckily, our cottage by the sea provided ample roaming grounds.

 We went with Wesley’s family which meant there were two toddlers in the house. ( They are eight days apart and will turn two this month.) I was pretty impressed with how they got along, better than I expected. They, of course, made me laugh. Ev’s cousin J was hanging out playing in a corner counting from one to thirteen and saying things like ‘goodness gracious’. And I’m like, ‘Hey Ev. Can you say mama?’. 

haha. (Since coming home from the beach she has mastered mama, dada, and goldfish, her most used word).

Jack about did us in at night. He’d awake every three hours or so, just to holler his head off to make sure we knew he was still there. Such a pleasure. Mercifully, we were the only ones who could hear his dulcet tones.

After watching endless games of pool I announced that next year, I voted for a ping pong table instead of pool. They informed me that the ping pong table was in the garage. Oh. I said. And so we had some rousing games of ping pong. What I lack in skill, I make up for in volume.


And just like that, we were on the road back. Where we determined that traveling for five hours with small children is not for the faint of heart.

Did I mention we’re flying to Boston in three weeks?

Oy vey.

Can’t wait!

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in baby, family, Travels. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

