did jack have fun on vacation?

Poor Jack hasn’t received much blog time. Mainly for the aforementioned reason brought forth by brother Dave.

My mother has been able to experience some of instances with Jack dear where I put on Ev’s lawn mowing ear protectors. But for the most part, he’s been pretty darn chill. Especially as his mother has hopped on the bicycle built for two just about every day to take a spin around town. Seriously one of my favorite parts of vacation. One day Wes and I were biking along and we heard screaming. We looked down and saw some girls hollering in the car next to us taking our picture with their cell phone.

Dang. We’re cool.

And then later I got a text from a friend from high school. ‘Did I just see you and Wes cruise by on a double bike?’.

Yes you did.

We ran an errand for dad on the bike one evening. I was told to go into this nice restaurant and ask for Leonard.

So in I walked with my flashing helmet. The host came over with a quizzical eye and asked, ‘Is the big earthquake coming? Should I go get my helmet too?’.

‘Not yet,’ I told him. ‘Leonard?’.

Another quizzical look, ‘Should I know you?’.

So I told him David was my dad and he’d sent me down because Leonard was going to give him some oyster sauce.

He laughed and took me over to the bar where all four chefs stopped what they were doing to eye me and my flashing helmet.

I got pretty tickled but walked out with a little bag of oyster sauce.

But back to Jack. That was quite the segue.

He really is a sweet kid and is only loud occasionally. He smiles and visits with one and all and makes me all melty and sorry for when I get frustrated with his loudness. 

    
      
 And he gets five stars for yesterday’s performance on all flights. He fell to sleep before take off and didn’t wake up until we put him in his car seat. Ev put up a valiant fight for the first hour and a half before passing out for the night. 

We pulled in at 5:45 am and didn’t arise from bed until 1:30. 

Grateful for safety. Grateful for a fabulous trip. 

Also. Airport snuggles.  

   

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to did jack have fun on vacation?

  1. Paula Johnson says:

    Jack & Evelyn are blessed, indeed, to have Great Grandma Ruth as a part of their lives~~love the pics of her with them.
    Any photos of you & Wes on the tandom?
    It looks as if Jack is going to be bigger than Ev in “no time”!
    I rejoice with you in the delight your vacation brings you!

Leave a Reply

