i have a little shadow.

Grama and I were just talking about that poem and my little shadow. So many times, I’ll be holding Jack over my arm watching Wes do something and I’ll look down and Ev will be standing right next to me with her baby slung over her arm watching away.

She’ll dance through the house with her baby, then stop mid-step to bounce up and down and shush it. She’ll cover her baby’s head in kisses and try to stick Jack’s paci in it’s mouth while making little sucking noises with her mouth.

It’s adorable.

And it also turns out the Ev has her own little shadow.

Pretty sure she just discovered it.

We were on our way up from the beach, walking on the road towards the car. She kept veering off toward the middle of the road and I kept directing her back to the edge towards her dad.

 ‘She’s trying to get her shadow,’ informed Wes.

No way, I thought. She’s just trying to get to the yellow stripes in the road to walk on them. But then I watched. And sure enough. She’d pause, and then sort of pounce on her shadow. Then she’d point to it and pounce again. And then admire the shadows crazy hair.

 Oh Ev. You are the best.

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in cayucos, for ev.. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to i have a little shadow.

  1. Marty said that this picture of Ev pointing to her shadow could win a photo contest/that it is as good as any of them. I feel the same way about your writing; maybe you could submit this to a parenting magazine or ? I will ask my young writer friend from Bible Study where you could go with your stories…they ARE WONDERFUL !!!

    • Marty said that this picture of Ev pointing to her shadow could win a photo contest/that it is as good as any of them. I feel the same way about your writing; maybe you could submit this to a parenting magazine or ? I will ask my young writer friend from Bible Study where you could go with your stories…they ARE WONDERFUL !!!

  2. Paula says:

    I agree with Jacklyn! You really have a gift for writing, Kelsey (sp?). You are able to write short, succinct, entertaining, informative, humorous and meaningful stories and observations~~ seemingly with ease. They just flow. Thank you for sharing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

