and we’re adjusting.

And just like that. Jack’s one month old.

It’s been an interesting two weeks since I was here last. Honestly, the day in and day out of being by myself with the kids has gone better than I expected. Today I dozed on the sofa while Jack slept on the bed and Evelyn brought me three dolls and a shovel, a package of wipes, four diapers, a razor and mary kay moisturizer, and a couple of books. So there is that. But Jack has saved his epic meltdowns and sleepless nights for the weekends and soWes and I battle through children together versus me by myself.

Also. Wes comes home for lunch almost every day. And so I get some adult interaction and someone to hold Jack while I do some stuff or put Ev down. Breaks up our day fantastically. Incredibly wonderful.

Did I mention that while pregnant I bought sofas and beds and dressers and chairs and sold sofas and beds and night stands and dressers? Mom helped me get everything where it should be and I sit in my glider with Jack and look into my new living room and I love it.

IMG_5919

And the kids. Remember Ev used to gasp at everything? Now it’s ‘oh. oh. oh!’. For pretty much everything. And especially if she hears Jack make the smallest noise or sees him in the other room. She’s still very into holding him and giving him lots of kisses and pointing out various body parts.

IMG_5773 IMG_5805They really are pretty cute together.IMG_5924 IMG_5902 IMG_5905Ev’s independence continues to soar. I love watching her toddle around and she loves toddling around and this makes life much easier on everyone. I even let her spoon her own oatmeal today and told my inner OCD to be quiet.

IMG_5925IMG_5851

You pretty much can’t vacuum without her help.

And Jack. He spent the first three weeks of his life being incredibly chill. And then he woke up. Saturday night he pulled his first all nighter and was awake from 11:40 to 5 am. We made it through the night thanking God he hadn’t pulled this stunt the night before, (Band of Brothers opened for the Brady Trio and we’d been gone all day and arrived home after midnight), and that we had Sunday to recover. At 4:23 I stuck him in the bath and he calmed down and thoroughly enjoyed himself and finally passed out at five. Unfortunately he woke up with the same vigor and Sunday was a long, long day.

But today. the three of us took naps, and that makes it a wildly successful day.

Lots of different factors to be considered but we still laugh at life now with Jack. When Evelyn was born, time stopped. It was moving toward cold weather, I was recovering, it was that first baby and besides Wesley’s parents house, I don’t think we went anywhere for six weeks.

The last two weeks we’ve been hopping from one party to the next, gone swimming, gone concerting, etc. And it’s been great.

And now Jack dear is requiring his mother’s attention so I shall bid you goodnight and wish the same upon myself.

Hugs and love.

 

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in baby, for ev., for jack. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

