these kids. 

IMG_5795

I posted this picture on Instagram after taking Jack to his doctor appointment and a friend texted me and was like, ‘ok, I’m ready for kid number two’. To which I responded, ‘oh my word! Do it! It’s so much fun having them so close! And Ev’s absolutely adorable with him and oh it’s just so fun!’.

And then I was like, ‘of course, it has only been five days so…’.

And then I laughed quite a bit.

I think it’s been seventeen days now. And it’s my first day at home by myself with the children. (I love saying children). So far it’s going shockingly well.

DSC_0236

Everyone wants to know how’s Ev doing. Ev’s doing well. We spent most of Jack’s doctor appointment talking about Evelyn and walking and teeth brushing. I almost burst out laughing when the doctor began to describe wrestling holds in order to accomplish brushing teeth but then realized she was serious. I do believe a chuckle escaped.

And then that evening, I’m sure because we had talked about her, Ev began taking a few more steps. And now, she toddles everywhere. It’s adorable. We accomplished this by ignoring her or pretending not to notice when she walked. Evidently praise and encouragement was not a good idea. Goof.

Also. Teeth brushing has remarkably improved to any of you with concerns. heh.

Little miss suddenly independent adores baby Jack and wants to hold him several times a day. She thinks it’s hilarious when he bonks her with his head, always informs me when he cries from the other room and gives a delighted, ‘oh!’ when she sees him for the first time after waking up.

And Jack. Gosh. He’s a good kid. He pretty much just eats and sleeps when he’s supposed to. I’ve got a couple incredible stretches of sleep and it’s been brilliant. He’s so different from what I remember Ev being as far as strength and alertness. And his facial expressions just crack us up and melt my heart. I find him rather adorable.

DSC_0188DSC_0213DSC_0174DSC_0161-001DSC_0250-001DSC_0254

It’s been a swell two weeks. So incredibly thankful for my parents being here. My mom took amazing care of us and I was able to spend a lot of time one on one with Jack getting to know him the same way I did with Ev and it was really quite special.

Feeling exceptionally blessed.

And feeling like, wow. We are a family of four.

It feels a bit like we’ve arrived.

Hugs and love.

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in baby, family, for ev., for jack. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to these kids. 

  1. Introverted Mama says:

    Beautiful family!

  2. Your commentary and pics are more entertaining than “royalty”. You are so good at drawing a picture with your words and at expressing the love and enjoyment that you have with your sweet family. It makes me very happy for you to see that you are just “naturals” with these little ones.

  3. Peggy says:

    Beautiful family. I so look forward to your posts.

  4. Joni says:

    I love those kids. And their parents. So happy for you!

  5. Raen says:

    Glad it’s going so well! They are cute kids and I enjoyed getting to see them (and you & Wes). Great pics of you guys!

Leave a Reply

