it’s real.

The fatigue. The hormones. I’ve been going about today with a dripping nose and leaky eyes. I feel like a whale who swallowed a puffer fish. I keep thinking this cold is getting better. And now I feel like I sound like a swarthy pirate when I cough.

Despite all this, we had a pretty swell weekend. Saturday was stunning. And much time was spent outdoors. I did my pilates outside around 8:30 (I’ve been sending time lapse videos of myself doing pilates for the amusement of myself and my parents. My parents, in turn, have sent them to everyone and their brother. I believe my dad has entitled the video, ‘Bugs life’ because of my large belly and tentacle like arms swinging madly. If you need a laugh, message me and I might send you one. Maybe.).

We ate our steak dinner outside by candlelight at 9:00 and then pulled our chairs out into the middle of the yard, huddled under blankets and watched the stars for about an hour. And then in the morning, pulled our chair back into the shade of our beautiful tree and listened to a podcast while drinking iced lattes and eating dudes. Some lovely times together.

Wes continues to gussy up the outdoors. It’s looking pretty good around here. I no longer care much about the furniture situation. I’m just tired.

My thirty nine week check up was kinda stressful. We went in on Friday and it felt so much like the day Ev was born. They do this thing where they measure your belly and the number is supposed to correlate with how many weeks you are. Don’t ask me the reason why. In theory, this means I’d measure close to 39 but I measured 32 which was smaller than the week previously. So, they had me do an ultrasound. Bebe was in tenth or smaller percentile, but because these things can be inaccurate, they had me do an non stress test (correlating baby’s movement with baby’s heart rate).

I laid there on the table and dripped. The sense of déjà vu was heavy and I couldn’t turn my brain off and finally told Wesley he either needed to read to me Song of Solomon or Revelations 21.  Shockingly enough, he chose Revelations. So we discussed the length of the wall and what color chrysoprase was.

Bebe passed test with flying colors but I get to go in tomorrow and do the same thing all over. I think I’ll be calmer. I’m seeing the doctor that told the baby had flipped and we have great rapport.

So. Other than all the dripping, I’m doing great! And I hope you are too! And perhaps I’ll just think and type everything in exclamation points for the rest of the day to remind myself how great I am!

ha.

Okay. Think I’m going to go eat something. Or something.

Love to you and yours.

DSC_0049

39 weeks. 4 days.

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in for jack, Life as it Happens. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to it’s real.

  1. your mother says:

    Look at you! I think you look great and can’t believe you are still doing Pilates! go you…

  2. Auntie Stace says:

    You sure do look good! Sorry about the cold. I do hope you have a few days to get over this before delivery…

  3. Laurie says:

    love you friend. 💜 🙏

  4. LM says:

    Trust me, you certainly don’t look like a whale that swallowed a puffer fish! Looking forward to hear of bebe’s arrival!

  5. campbellpianostudio says:

    The end of pregnancy is always so blasted taxing. Love you and hope you’re ‘delivered’ soon. (I could never figure out who was being delivered, the baby or the mama. 🙂

Leave a Reply

