i’m in love with april.

Gosh. This month. It’s been incredible.

The weather has been stunning. The three of us spent pretty much every waking moment outside last weekend. It was bliss. Wesley has a bit of a hard time just lazing around (I’m working on it) but in between mowing our yard, power washing, weed eating, tree trimming, grape vine trimming, mowing neighbors yard, he actually laid down on the blanket with me and ev. Mostly when it was meal time.

Ev’s swing was hung back up in the tree and the fountain was filled with water. Her life is now complete and she goes back and forth between the two.IMG_5538IMG_5552 

Wesley’s birthday was this week and we took our first date since January. It was such a success that I’m declaring a date every week until the baby’s born because after that…We tried a new place on the downtown mall, Red Pump Kitchen. Absolutely ridiculous. I haven’t enjoyed a meal to that extent in quite some time. Locals; grilled shrimp. Party in my mouth.

I was actually kinda excited about Wesley’s birthday gift, had some help with ideas from brother dear but I stupidly left the browser tab open on the computer that clearly showed what I’d purchased for his birthday and when he got home, he used the computer. I realized what I had done and was so disappointed and wanted to cry and was just pregnant and sick with myself. I got over it and just pretended like he hadn’t seen anything. Miraculously, he’d somehow ignored the ‘backcountry receipt’ tab and I got to enjoy his surprise. So that was fun. I felt like a champ

I’ve reached the nine month mark, baby is firmly head down on the ‘launch pad’ and I feel great. Thank you prenatal pilates. (I sent a brief clip of myself doing my moves to a couple friends and we all hooted together.) I was carrying dread around with me at this point in Evelyn’s pregnancy as I anticipated a cesarean and while I don’t know how this labor will end up, I’m excited and giddy about it. Which, if I think about it, means I’m excited about labor etc., and that seems like a weird thing to say. But…yep. I am!

I have this little cherub that reaches up to hold my hand. And I walk around with her and relish the feel of her small squishy hand. We have a new morning routine. I ask her if she wants to go find bugs and she says, ‘sssss’. (Please). So I get my little handheld vacuum cleaner (one of the best purchases we’ve made), and sometimes she walks with me, other times crawls ahead, and we look for bugs. There’s always at least five stink bugs around, and she squeals when she finds one. I ask her if she’s ready, ‘ssss’, and then I vacuum them up and she shudders and shivers and then moves on to find the next one. It’s the funniest thing.

DSC_0012

Fountain gurgling. Sunshine. Evelyn’s giggle. Green hills. Flowering trees. Wesley’s love. (He’s been mowing around a patch in the yard that is full of wildflowers and whenever I see it, I feel pregnantly moved by his care and thoughtfulness). Friends prayers. God’s peace.

Lots of love.

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in for ev., for jack, Happiness. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to i’m in love with april.

  1. You are in my prayers and I am thankful that “God has not given us a spirit of fear but of power and of love and of a sound mind” and you are the evidence of that scripture from IITimothy 1:7
    What wonderful neighbors you are.

Leave a Reply

