i’m a rockstar.

I have this friend who exercises about like me. As in, ‘hey, we should get together and exercise because we’re weak sauce!’. la la la. And that’s as far as we get.

So back in February when I ordered my prenatal yoga DVD, I texted her, knowing she’d be proud of me. ‘Cancel your order!’, she quickly texted back, ‘I ordered one when I was pregnant and never even took it out of the package!’.

Ah. Friends are the best. So. She gave it to me. And a week or so ago, I finally got my computer back. And then a couple days later, I realized I had a brand new DVD waiting to be discovered.

So last Friday, I popped it in and did two segments of Pilates for flexibility, (it seemed by far the easiest). And then I did it again. And again. And was like, ‘wow! this is my kind of exercise!’. There’s five ten minute workouts you can do; I had done four of them and had never even gotten up off the floor! And such a feeling of accomplishment when a ten segment clip is done.

I went to a party and was telling my friends about how awesome I was for doing three segments of Pilates for flexibility and how the lady who teaches it is 36 weeks pregnant, incredibly graceful, with beautifully toned arms (I’ve always admired toned arms), and maybe by the time I get to 36 weeks I’ll be toned and graceful. (Right now I’m pretty sure I look like a drunk person waving their arms around. Wes did a couple segments with me once and I had to make him move behind me because I was laughing too much at his gracefulness. So I can only imagine myself. Also. Rockstar husband who does prenatal pilates with his wife).

So my lovely friends laughed and encouraged and then one warned, with a serious expression, not to bulk up too much because manly arms aren’t cool.

I wheezed a bit and thought she must have never seen this picture I posted.IMG_4628My poor noodles. (She did laugh when I showed her what happened when I flexed my left arm. Nothing happened. Nothing has ever happened when I flex my left arm. I do have a small baked potato in my right.)

So I’ve faithfully pilated for six days now. I was seriously thankful I didn’t have dumbbells but unfortunately mentioned this to my sister in law, who has toned arms and an extra set of dumbbells. She generously donated them to the cause. So far, I’ve made Wesley use them.

Because right now, I’m feeling less like a rockstar, and pretty much just sore.

ha ha ha.

Off I go! To gracefully wave my noodles around!

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in best of, friends, Happiness. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to i’m a rockstar.

  1. Joni says:

    How nice of Em to lend you her dumbbells! Good luck with day 7. Or maybe the 7th day should be a day of rest 😉

  2. laurie says:

    perfect. 😀

  3. You are SO funny. I truly love the way you express yourself; God has given you some wonderful abilities, a wonderful set of parents, a wonderful husband, a wonderful little girl and a wonderful ability to make even a grieving woman laugh. Try to find a few moments here and there when the second and third and Subsequent Blessings come along to do a little writing. It won’t be easy but it will truly be even BETTER than a baby book or three.

    • Jacklyn, I’m so sorry for your loss! Come by next time you check on the b&b for a hug and a visit. You can teach Ev some new dance moves 🙂 and i’ll show you my continued pilates improvements 😉 hugs and love

      On Fri, Mar 20, 2015 at 4:18 PM, A Story of Us wrote:

      >

Leave a Reply

