me and the bebes.

I know. These are everyone’s favorite posts. But my poor children don’t have baby books. So there you have it. I didn’t even save a clipping from Evelyn’s first haircut. (gasp). I couldn’t figure out what I would do with it. Have you ever seen your hair from your first hair cut? I haven’t and so far don’t feel too damaged and hope Ev feels the same way.

So. Ev and I (and bebe) went in for check ups today. As you may remember,I gained 12 pounds in the month of January and was trying to not go for a repeat in February. I’ve gone five long weeks without baking a dear cookie or lemon pound cake or muddy buddies and exercised maybe five days with this in mind (ha). So I was a little interested in the scaling department. You can guess how much weight I gained. It made me laugh. But now, they’re having me come back because my measurements are off. I’m not sure what all this means except maybe eat more cookies?

The doctor did inform me that it had been a long time since she’d seen as good a blood count as mine. I’m not sure what they were counting but it made me feel good and I applauded my blood.

And the bebe is breech.

After a delightful lunch in the warm sun, we headed over to Ev’s doctor appointment. She was not a fan. No thank you to her personal space being invaded. Stethoscopes were of the devil, ear checking devices were torture, weight check (19 lbs, 21%) and height check (30 in, 14%) were insulting. She pretty much found it all awful. She had calmed down nicely with her dad and was looking for birdies out the window when the nurse came back in and she looked at me and her face just fell and her lip started quivering and it was very sad.

But we all survived. We talked about Ev’s extensive vocabulary, (banana and please), her walking (as in not) and I read about how 15-18 month olds should be helping brush their own teeth (a total of 8). And said oh dear.

I came home with the intention of whipping up some cookies, but about passed out when I walked into the house due to either the dead mouse in the pot of water on the porch, the smell of diapers, or pregnancy. Most likely a combination of the three. So instead I went around opening windows, spraying odor eliminator, emptying trashcans, getting rid of mouse, cleaning kitchen, and telling Ev not to throw her blanket out of her crib. Then I sat outside with an iced latte and ate an energy ball (the only way I’ve made it without baking) and read a book and smiled.

It was a good day.



About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in baby, Happiness, Life as it Happens, Our Story. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

