In like a lion. 

Hello dear friends! It’s March!! And it matters not that tomorrow’s high is 28* and the low is 7* and that we’re supposed to get four to eight inches of snow because just like the watchman who waits for the dawn, or the heroes of Hebrews 11 who looked towards an eternal land, I’ve been keeping a sharp eye on the ten day weather and am happy to report that the end is near! In like a lion, out like a lamb! Right?

And don’t you just love it when people tell you what your weather is like as if you have no idea? Or am I the only one who obsessively stalks the weather page? Before we had smart phones, dad liked to pull the weather up on his phone and inform us: Ruckersville, 34*. Cayucos, 72*. Poi’pui, 81*. And I’d be like, ‘thank you dad.’ Grampa often leaves voice messages giving me a play by play of the weather in my town for the day. But I know that he is honestly concerned for my sanity and will most likely be praying for my state of mind and it makes me smile. A couple weeks ago, right before we dipped down into the negative digits, my FIL asked if Wesley had let me know that it was supposed to get really cold. I was like. Um. Pretty sure I’m finding out these things by myself. 

And now I’m passing it on by putting the Boston weather on my phone so I can tell my friend who just moved there when she can expect more snow. I’m sure she’ll appreciate the favor. 

Heh. But. Moving on to things beside the weather.  My parents come back in three weeks. Ev will be 17 months old. I wonder if the cherub will be walking by then. When Cody and Tessa were puppies, we’d begin teaching them a new trick and they’d realize what we were about to do and run away. Evs very similar. She knows what standing up and walking means and if you ask her if she wants to do 1,2,3 stand up and walk (holding our hands) she shakes her head, burrows down and refuses to straighten her legs if you attempt to ‘help’ her stand up. Goose.

A rather adorable goose.

We both were supposed to go to dr appointments tomorrow for check ups but because we’re both going in to week three of colds plus less than ideal road conditions, I rescheduled. I took this picture months ago and it’s pretty much how I would describe our winter and what I wake up to. 



At times, I can get a little depressed as I continue to carry around tissue boxes from room to room. But it can’t last forever, right?

Last Friday, we left Ev with her grands and met some friends at the rock and worship road tour. What a hoot. I sang around mouthfuls of cough drops and had a blast. Matt Maher is pretty much my favorite. His new song, ‘because he lives‘, makes me want to get my Maria Von trap on and go twirling in a field, rejoicing. 

Anything else? Oh yes. On Saturday, a bunch of us couples got together for our third annual soup and pie night. It was sort of a date night and many of the kids were being baby sat. This allowed for some great visiting and many a belly laugh as we played the fabulous game of telephone charades. Another major hoot. You should try it sometime. 

And I believe that’s all for now. Thankful for friends, for many answered prayers this week, for these two, and for the coming spring!



  

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in baby, family, Life as it Happens, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to In like a lion. 

  1. doriandean says:

    Beautiful pics here! Your little one is a cutie!

  2. A Virginia Friend says:

    You never cease to bring a smile to my face, Friend. Love you a lot. Ev. She is getting more and more beautiful! New chair? It’s darling! Hugs to you. I know the sniffling will be gone soon. 🙂

Leave a Reply

