Pregnancy. Exercise. Cold. What?

Upon arriving home from California, I ventured off to my next doctor appointment to check up on bebe. There I learned that Bebe was still breech (I kinda wanted to cry but eventually was able to find thankfulness and hope), and that I had basically gained twelve pounds while vacationing in dear old California. Whoops. But gosh, what wondrous food.

So. I decided that it might be time to see if I could exercise some self control, and not do any of my favorite baking until my next doctor appointment.

Now, I know you’re not supposed to think more highly of yourself than you ought, but I think pretty darn highly of my baking abilities. And oh the dreams of dudes and melt aways and lemon pound cake. But perseverance produces character, and character, hope. And so I soldier on.

I also decided that if the weather warmed up to forty degrees, I would go outside for a mile walk. If the weather would not cooperate, I’d do a yoga DVD.

I got maybe three walks in.

And then this happened.

For like, weeks. And I realized that I didn’t even have a way of doing a DVD exercise as we are currently computer less. So about that exercise…

I decided to exercise the power of prayer and a little prayer group formed of California to Virginia transplants as we persevered to cheerfully make it through that week with the 10 degree high.

I also got in touch with another California transplant who has resided in Detroit, Michigan for the past two months. “Jane,” I said, “tell me your secrets. I desperately need them this week.”

And then what do you know. The sun broke through and it warmed up to 50 on Sunday. And so I posted this image on IG of myself sunbathing and we all chuckled together.

And then the three of us got out of the house and ventured around town and they really just make everything better.


It’s freezing again, high of 27, and I’m currently dragging around chairs to various sun streaming locations and puttering around with my little plants.

I seriously almost cried when I saw the first bud on my lantana.

Yep, I’m a tiny bit crazy.

March, come quickly.

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
Image | This entry was posted in baby, food, Life as it Happens. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Pregnancy. Exercise. Cold. What?

  1. laurie says:

    bleghhh

  2. Heh, what can I say? I winterized the B&B for the first time in 20 years…so discouraging to be too cold for entertaining guests. But I called my “Blue Grass” guests who have come every year for 15 in a row and the three of them will be here in May. One of them is a federal judge and he said even the courts had shut down the other day…then he asked if they would be my first guests of the year !!!! (By May, I would sure hope to be open before then. Keep me posted with your Madison “weather report” and your sunbathing efforts so I know when to thaw it out.

  3. your mother and father come and visit you in March….the electric blanket for our bed is on its way. i don’t want to be in the obituaries section of your newspaper for “frozen to death”. and the plants in your dish drainer? that is something your grandmother would do…..that made me just laugh and be thankful all in the same breath!

  4. Auntie Stace says:

    I love the pictures of Wes and Ev! Her expressions…so funny!

Leave a Reply

