Bee it ever so bumble.

There’s no place like comb.

That would be a direct quote from Cheaper by the Dozen.

And yes. This post should have been posted weeks ago but you know how it goes. One thing leads to another, we find out our computer is a refurbished computer instead of brand new, send it back to Amazon and are still waiting for the replacement. And I just really don’t enjoy typing on iPhones or the like. So this might be brief.

Our last week in San Luis was lovely. Wes and I left Ev overnight for the first time and journeyed over to Avila, where we had begun our honeymoon six years ago. (What?) I had a hard time not thinking about the little cherub the whole time, but as I was contemplating, realized that in 20ish years, it’ll be back to just me and Wes. That was a rather novel and startling thought and helped me to focus on enjoying the getaway.
IMG_5266

But of course it was delightful to get back to the cherub. She learned how to say banana while we were gone and it’s one of the more adorable things. IMG_5253

IMG_5241

IMG_5255

Wes got in a lot of hiking and while my parents offered to push me up the hills, I declined. It did look rather stunning in pictures and, in Wesleys rather amazing video of the central coast. Have I mentioned he has a drone? He came home drooling a few months ago over some drone video and I rolled my eyes and told him to sell one of our four cars before purchasing his toy. Our beloved 1998 forester immediately departed from us and next thing I knew, Wes was hyperventilating over packages arriving from Amazon. He and his coworker ran over to his moms house where they thought the drone had mistakenly been delivered, tore into the box only to find a bunch of those coffee pods and a digital wall clock. I laughed and laughed when he told me, imagining their excitement level and then utter chagrin at discovering coffee pods. Oh it still makes me laugh. But all that to say, I’ve been pretty darn impressed with the movies he’s put together. If you haven’t seen this one, I personally think it’s worth your four minutes.
IMG_5256
We arrived home after a very smooth day of traveling, sank into our bed, said, ‘ahhh’, (twin beds + tall people = lots of appreciation for own bed), and recounted our trip highlights.

We loved watching Ev love the beach and charge into the water. I don’t think I would describe her as adventurous and so it was great to watch her expand her world.

We were incredibly thankful for the time with the family. Three weeks is a long time and I think we all still liked each other at the end. And that feels pretty impressive.

Overall, to have the opportunity to hibernate to California for three weeks in such a beautiful location just is pretty amazing. So we came home with happy hearts and a stock pile of vitamin d. And now we’re just holding on to that pretty darn tightly as we watch the 10 day forecast and hope for March.

Hugs and love.

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
Image | This entry was posted in baby, family, Happiness, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

