well east coast girls are hip.

I really dig those styles they wear.

Sorry. It’s the only intro I could come up with at 2 am. And then it just stayed on repeat for forever.

However. It is true. I feel like you have to think so much more about clothes on the east coast. Hats? Gloves? Scarves? Coats? Vests? Boots? How many layers?

I brought two pairs of shorts here and my morning routine usually is, ‘which color shall I wear today?!’. Usually its whichever one I can find in the disaster zone that is our bedroom. Think two twins pushed together, one pack and play, a too small dresser, suitcase, drone, stools and the like. We’re now at the Pacific house in San Luis and accommodations are a bit smaller.

But it makes me laugh. I’ll see girls walking down the street in boots, jeans, fur trimmed coat and I just want to be like, ‘sorry darling. It’s 75 and sunny out.’

And none of this really has any point, it was just the 2 am thing. And we are headed home on Sunday and Monday’s high is 29 and snowing. So I probably just have the weather on my mind.

IMG_5254For instance, Ev got too hot in this outfit. Actually, come to think of it, so did I. Wes had to switch places with me at the lunch table because I was about to have a heat stroke.

But enough of weather. Let’s just look at 100 beautiful beach pictures.IMG_5125 Did I mention that Wes left during week 2 and flew back to Virginia to work a couple days?

IMG_5133DCIM100MEDIAIMG_5260IMG_5131

His last couple days with us were absolutely glorious and I tried to just soak them up and pretend he wasn’t leaving. But I’m kind of a wimp. And then away he flew and I hunkered down mentally and did my best to focus on living in the moment and not the what if moment and enjoying each day.IMG_5117And luckily, Cayucos is a pretty wonderful place to do that.

IMG_5259

IMG_5157

IMG_5137

IMG_5188

IMG_5192These three make me laugh and were a great distraction. Pretty sure Evelyn thinks her aunt is pretty cool.IMG_5237IMG_5156And then he was back.IMG_5258And gosh. It was lovely. And I rejoiced. And prayed ‘thank you’ about 100 times.

IMG_5215DCIM100MEDIA

It’s interesting being here for three weeks. (Definitely our longest trip). I wondered if we’d all kinda get in each others hair and everyone (including us) would be ready for us to ship out. I’m not sure about everyone else but I’m not feeling a desperate need to get back in our little hills house. Might have something to do with the forecast.

But neither am I depressed at the thought of leaving. Although you can ask me again on Sunday morning. I kinda feel like at some point we should probably head on back and the best news is that it will be February! And the incredibly long, cold month of January will be behind us. And it will have been spent in just a wondrous place.

So that’s been an interesting ponder.

East coast friends, it’ll be delightful to see you again. And west coast friends, it’s been delightful running into you.

And I’ll probably see you all again next week in snowy Virginia with at least one more photo dump of this lovely vacation.

Hugs.

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in cayucos, family, Happiness, Journeys End. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to well east coast girls are hip.

  1. Melissa says:

    Oh I must admit I would trade places with you today! However, you missed a fairly nice January, we had a few 60 degree days! Glad you all enjoyed your trip!

  2. Whitney says:

    That’s the great thing about longer trips-you don’t feel quite so desperate not to leave! It’s still sad, but definitely not as hard. Glad you could spend part of winter in a warm place! And I agree about February. Somehow it always seems like spring is so much closer!

Leave a Reply

