the last time I was here…

Here, as in here in California at the beach, it was for my little brothers wedding.

IMG_4686

Truly a top ten day.

IMG_4696IMG_4698IMG_46992015/01/img_4685.png

2015/01/img_4688.png2015/01/img_4687.png

IMG_4695IMG_4702It was a spectacular day filled with love, family and friends. The ceremony was beautiful and the groomsmen reported of a couple stopping by on the pier to listen in. Next thing you know, they had their arms around each other and were weeping. Since I had my back to the pier I can’t verify but it does make a good story.2015/01/img_4690.png2015/01/img_4691.pngBeautiful expressions from bridesmaids and groomsmen. Some brought down the house, others had folks surreptitiously wiping their eyes. Like this guy.2015/01/img_4692.pngCan anyone guess if I like the microphone?2015/01/img_4693.pngDavey and Jennifer’s dance was absolutely adorable.  2015/01/img_4694.pngPerhaps our dancing would be better classified as exuberant.2015/01/img_4703.pngSuch love.2015/01/img_4704.pngAnd such a great day.

This was also the day I found out I was pregnant.

ha! Bet you weren’t expecting that line.

I wasn’t either. chuckle.

Perhaps I should clarify. We were hoping and praying for another bebe to join the ranks but when the day comes that you say, um, pretty sure there’s a bebe growing inside of me…it just blows me away. Quite a miracle.

A couple months later, Ev sent out an email that read…

Because I am cute
And oh so much fun,
My mom said hey!
I want another one!

066_K0264EvelynThere’s two babes here
In this picture you see.
I’m out in front
But there’s one behind me!

It might be a boy,
Might be a girl,
But if I see mom get sick again,
I’m gonna hurl. 😉

Right now our house
Is mostly peace and quiet.
I know a brother
Will probably bring a riot. 😉

This sibling is due
Sometime in May.
My parents say woot!
Yip skip hurray!

So that gives you most of the details. I’m 24 weeks along, bebe is due May 14 and we’ll find out somewhere around then if it’s a boy or a girl. I think it’s a boy. I have been quite a bit sicker with this one and a memory that I will always hold on to is the times I’ve been kneeling in front of the porcelain throne losing it while Ev cheerfully stands next to me and unravels all the toilet paper. Makes me smile. But. I have been doing absolutely peachy these past few weeks.

We went in for an ultrasound at 21 weeks and it felt a bit like same song, second verse. This bebe is also in a frank breech position and my first reaction was one of resignation. But then I remember that 50% of babies are in this position at 22 weeks and just because Ev never budged doesn’t mean this one won’t. In fact, I feel like this ones done about 100 somersaults since we’ve arrived here, often using my bladder as a spring board. Such fun.

I believe the announcement surprised one set of parents and not so much other. We told Wesley’s parents we were taking Ev in for her one year check up and when we saw them the next day, they asked what the doctor said. And Wes pulled out the sonogram picture. It was pretty good. We facetimed my parents (I wasn’t ready to let them in on the secret at Davey’s wedding at approximately 5 weeks along) and while chatting, messaged them the picture. That was fun too.

A park day was arranged one sunny day and I strolled up to each of my friends and showed them my picture. And got quite a variety of reactions, disbelief to laughter to tears. And that was rather fun as well.

Feeling richly blessed and very thankful. Ev’s doing quite well taking care of her doll and the thought of her captivated by a sibling rather melts my heart.

Lots of love.

(All pictures by Lisa Maksoudian Photography)

About A Story of Us

My grandparents 57th wedding anniversary and my first wedding anniversary motivated to journal the adventures life brought our way . I hope to amuse the friends and family I have all over the country and, when I am my grandmothers age, look back at what I have written and chuckle. It's been four years since I began and the snickers I bring myself as I look back propel me to write on. Cheers to the future and happy memories of the past.
This entry was posted in baby, best of, cayucos, family, friends, Happiness, Journeys End. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to the last time I was here…

  1. Cheree says:

    So excited for you guys Kels! I was in the midst of trying to take care of Nate’s business stuff when an email popped up saying you had posted on your blog. I thought “great, I could use some comic relief at the moment” and yes, I did smile and enjoy the break from the grind of paper work. (hope your suspicion is right) I thought for sure our #3 was a boy and just last week got told it was a girl… I even asked for them to double check 🙂 Glad you are feeling better.

  2. Karyn says:

    Aww, how fun!! Congratulations! ❤

  3. Peggy says:

    Oh how wonderful. They will be very close as my girls were at 2yrs and two wks apart. They still are, even tho one still lives in MD and the other in CA. Such a wonderful gift from God.

Leave a Reply

